MOV 檔是什麼? MOV 檔案怎麼播放? 【MOV 格式的一切】

  • 建立具有音樂和特效的完整影片

  • 轉換和播放媒體檔案

  • 燒錄 CD、DVD 和 Blu-ray 光碟

Alex Weng Edited by Alex Weng

不知道 MOV 檔是什麼嗎?不知道怎麼打開 MOV 檔案嗎?本文將為您解釋一切,並為為您提供了大量的 MOV 檔案播放選項。

軟體名

OS

價格

Windows、macOS

免費試用,完整版價格為 $94.95。

幾乎所有系統

免費

Windows、macOS

免費

檢視所有程式

在開始進行說明以前,我們特別為這張播放工具清單挑選了 Movavi Video Suite。這個程式允許您在 180 多種格式之間進行播放和轉換,當然也包括了 .mov。您還可以在易於使用的媒體庫中快速儲存和尋找到這種檔案。

該程式非常適合初學者和專業人員使用,並提供免費試用版。另外,如果也想知道怎麼開啟 .mov 檔,該程式也提供了逐步指南來協助您。

MOV 檔案格式的特點

那麼,什麼是 .mov 檔案呢?.mov 和 .qt 一樣,都是屬於 QuickTime File Format (QTFF) 的副檔名。Apple 公司在 1998 年推出了這種格式,同時還也推出了 MOV 檔案的獨家壓縮演算法。

這種格式的檔案是由數個軌道組成的多媒體容器,每條軌道都儲存特定類型的資料,如音訊、視訊、時間代碼或文字等等。這也使得 MOV 檔案特別適合用來儲存電影。此外,這種格式的檔案也很容易編輯,因為編輯後不需要重寫資料。

這種格式有一個重大的缺點,那就是這是專為蘋果裝置而設計的,預設情況下,與早期版本的 Windows 和 Android 裝置都不相容。有兩種方法可以在 Windows 和 Android 上播放 MOV 影片,您要不是去下載專門的 MOV 檔案播放工具,就是去將檔案轉換為更為廣泛支援的格式,例如 MP4。本文將涵蓋這兩種方法。

MOV 格式的優點

  • 雖略有失真,但仍能提供高品質
  • 可以包含多個軌道:影片、音訊、字幕
  • 在網路上有良好的支援

MOV 格式的缺點

  • 是為 Apple 裝置而設計的,所以可能需要安裝額外的軟體才能在 Windows 或 Android 上使用。

最好的 MOV 檔案播放程式

如果想在不轉檔的情況下開啟 MOV 檔,您就必須使用與之相容的媒體播放程式或任何能達到相同效果的軟體。Apple 裝置和 Windows 10 電腦上的預設媒體播放程式都能夠應付 MOV 檔案而無需任何外掛程式。但如果這些程式的介面對您來說很不方便,或者其功能遠比您所想要的更少,那又該怎麼辦呢?這時,您可以下載更進階的媒體播放程式。那麼,又有哪些軟體可以開啟 MOV 檔案呢?下文列舉了一些程式作為範例:

最適合:希望享有影片全部功能的使用者

OS:Windows、macOS

價格:免費試用,完整版價格為 $94.95

Movavi Video Suite 可不只是一個軟體,而是結合了多個程式的多合一的介面,可以編輯、轉換和檢視多媒體檔案。在這麼多實用的軟體中,Movavi Video Suite 也包含了影片轉換工具和可以開啟 MOV 檔案的媒體播放程式。

這個播放程式支援很多影音格式,還能夠變更影片的對比度和亮度,並新增字幕檔。您可以下載該軟體,並在試用期內免費試用所有的工具。

主要功能

  • 播放和轉換超過 180 種的影片格是,且無損於品質
  • 擁有超過 200 種裝置的預設組
  • 處理影片超級快,即使是在 4K 和全高畫質的情況下

優點

  • 非常簡單
  • 擁有大量的功能 (轉換、編輯、燒錄等等)
  • 極強的格式支援

缺點

  • 只有試用版免費

最適合:使用多個作業系統的使用者

OS:幾乎所有系統

價格:免費

VLC 是一款多媒體播放程式,不僅能開啟各種影片檔,還支援格式轉換。根據官方網站上的資訊,這個軟體極受歡迎,已經下載了 4200 多萬次。VLC 支援大量的影片格式,包括 MP4、MOV、Real Video 和 3ivX D4。這款軟體 Mac 和 Windows 都能使用。

主要功能

  • 幾乎可用於所有的作業系統,包括 Linux、Unix 和行動作業系統
  • 幾乎沒有什麼編解碼器無法播放,而且還無需下載編解碼器包
  • 是開放原始碼的軟體
  • 完全免費,沒有廣告軟體、間諜軟體等

優點

  • 在 Linux、Solaris 和其他部分系統上開啟 .mov 檔案的最佳程式之一
  • 免費

缺點

  • 介面對於初學者而言好像很複雜

下載 VLC

最適合:想播放超高品質影片的使用者

OS:Windows、macOS

價格:免費

5KPlayer 提供了一個嵌入式的影片分割工具,且能夠應付各式各樣的影音格式。這款媒體播放程式支援著 450 多種的格式和編解碼器,包括了 MOV、MP4、HEVC 等等,這表示您不必安裝任何額外的編解碼器,就能以首選的格式來觀看自己喜歡的電影。還能夠開啟 4K 影片,並在沒有模糊、顏色失真和任何其他故障的情況下進行播放。根據官方網站,5KPlayer 是免費提供的。

主要功能

  • 可播放 4K、1080p 以及 360° 影片
  • 還可以播放多種音訊格式
  • 與許多裝置都具備無損於品質的串流連線能力
  • 能直接從平台上下載 300 多個網站的影片

優點

  • 免費
  • 可以從 YouTube 下載影片

缺點

  • 可能會安裝第三方軟體

下載 5KPlayer

最適合:想離線觀看超高畫質藍光和 YouTube 影片的使用者

OS:Windows

價格:$44.99

這款強大的軟體旨在播放高品質的影片,如 4K、高畫質或藍光,甚至能支援高達 240 fps 的影片。有了這個軟體,家裡基本上就是個電影院了。該軟體還有許多功能,可以強化影片,使影片看起來更好。透過電視模式,您可以在大螢幕上觀看電影,只需要將電視與安裝了該播放器的電腦連結起來就行了。

主要功能

  • 享有電影院品質的聲音功能
  • 與 Roku、AppleTv 和 ChromeCast 相容的投放功能
  • 能夠釘選並離線觀看 YouTube 影片
  • 能將 SDR 影片強化為 HDR 影片

優點

  • 能直接播放 ISO 檔案
  • 可以在影片中設定書籤,以便之後繼續看。

缺點

  • 不適用於 Mac 電腦

下載 CyberLink PowerDVD

最適合:尋找實惠選擇的 Windows 使用者

OS:Windows

價格:免費

有鑑於 Windows 作業系統的普及,Windows Media Player 可能本文中最具知名度的。本軟體是作業系統內建的應用程式之一。Windows Media Player 的最早版本在 1991 年問世,從那時起,它的功能就變得越來越多。如今,它不僅是個播放程式,更是一個媒體檔案組織工具。它能協助您分類所有的音訊、影片和圖像,往後您只需按幾下滑鼠,就能找到所需的一切。

主要功能

  • 能與 iTunes 資料庫整合,播放未受保護的檔案
  • 「現在播放」模式中的極簡介面
  • 能與多個裝置同步

優點

  • 免費
  • 是優秀的檔案整理工具

缺點

  • 對某些檔案類型而言,可能需要額外的編解碼器

下載 Windows Media Player

最適合:尋找實惠選擇的 Mac 使用者

OS:Windows、macOS

價格:免費

這款應用程式由 Apple 公司所開發,除了能播放 MOV 檔案外,本身也是個很方便的工具,可以用來開啟並播放具有聲音和字幕的影片。此外,這款軟體還能錄製影音,而其他播放程式可沒有這樣的功能。可惜 Apple 公司已經停止支援這個播放軟體的 Windows 版本,所以這些偉大的功能現在只有 Mac 使用者享受得到了。

主要功能

  • 提供基本的編輯功能

  • 允許您在 Mac 上錄製螢幕

  • 能壓縮影片

  • 無需下載即可播放線上影片檔

優點

  • 具備編輯選項

  • 可以錄影

缺點

  • 新版本只有 macOS 能用

下載 QuickTime Player

還有一種方法,不僅能讓您在電腦上觀看 MOV 影片,甚至在行動裝置上都行得通。要使用這種方法,您需要先將影片上傳到 Google Drive。只要將 MOV 檔案放在雲端儲存空間,您就能用個人電腦的瀏覽器來加以開啟,或者在智慧型手機上利用行動應用程式來播放。

如何轉換 MOV 影片

您喜歡的影片檢視工具可能需要特殊的編解碼器,否則 MOV 檔打不開,也可能到頭來根本就沒辦法播放這種格式。與其下載一個可能違反直覺且不方便的 MOV 檢視工具,還不如將 MOV 轉換為另一種更適合的格式試試。要做到這一點,您就需要使用檔案轉換器。幾乎所有的轉換器都可以將 MOV 變成 AVI、MP4 和 WMV。

就算您是想擷取 MOV 檔案中的聲音,並儲存成音訊格式,多數的影片轉換器也都做得到。請看看幾個影片轉換軟體的例子,這些例子都能將 MOV 改為其他格式。但請記住,在這張 MOV 檔案的最佳軟體清單中,只有基本版本是免費的,擴充版本都需要付費。

最適合:想轉換小型 MOV 檔案的使用者

OS:以網路為基礎

價格:免費方案,付費方案 $9.95 起

顧名思義,這個影片轉換工具屬於線上服務,可以用來轉換音訊檔與視訊檔。雖然不像桌面版轉換工具那樣擁有很多的轉換格式,但您不必下載任何可疑的免費軟體或共享軟體就能使用。這個線上轉換工具還有個缺點,就是是有檔案大小的限制。總而言之,只有當您需要將單一影片轉換為更通用的格式時,線上的影片轉換工具才會是最佳選擇。這項服務可以免費使用。

主要功能

  • 無需安裝

  • 從其伺服器上刪除的安全編碼

  • 支援 DropBox 和 Google Drive

  • 有壓縮選項

優點

  • 即使對新手來說也很簡單

  • 良好的格式支援

  • 每日轉換不限次數

缺點

  • 檔案大小有限

前往 Online Video Converter

最適合:想存取 MOV 檔案並在以後轉換的使用者

OS:Windows、macOS

價格:免費

Prism Video Converter 是個免費的影片轉換工具,可輕鬆用來壓縮或轉換影片。根據官網的資訊,該程式支援大量的影片格式,包括 MOV、MP4、AVI、WMV 和 FLV,同時也支援批次轉換,因此您可以一次轉換所有需要的影片。非商業目的可使用該程式的免費版本。

主要功能

  • 能夠直接從介面上傳和分享到社群網站和雲端儲存空間裡

  • 支援大量格式

  • 可單獨轉換或批次轉換

  • 無損轉換

優點

  • 支援格式很多

  • 可以燒錄光碟

缺點

  • 效能可能取決於硬體

下載 Prism Video Converter

最適合:需使用投放功能的使用者

OS:Windows、macOS

價格:免費

DivX 是個影片轉換程式,允許您將媒體檔案轉換成另一種格式。DivX Video Converter 的拖曳介面看起來既簡單又方便,更提供了許多非常有用的功能。其中較為突出的,就是能調整轉換速度和輸出影片品質之間的平衡,以及能設定影片的位元速率並進行基本的影片編輯。DivX Video Converter 有兩個版本:免費版本和專業版本。

主要功能

  • 可直接與雲端儲存空間連結,如 DropBox 和 Google Drive

  • 可在影片中新增章節點

  • 與 DLNA 相容的裝置投放功能

  • 能夠編輯和轉碼

優點

  • 具備編輯選項

  • 極簡介面,沒有任何多餘的東西

缺點

  • 部分使用者抱怨凍結

下載 DivX Video Converter

最適合:小型檔案可從 MOV 轉換為別種格式,但不能轉換成 MOV 格式

OS:以網路為基礎

價格:免費

Zamzar 是一項優秀的服務,可將檔案輕鬆轉換為流行的格式。它可以處理成批的檔案,也有幾個預設組,各種裝置都能適用,而且介面也很清晰。免費版本可轉換大小以 50MB 為限的檔案,轉換後,檔案將儲存 24 小時。使用者登入後即可使用儲存選項。Zamzar 免費版不適合用來轉換電影,但在轉換短片方面的效果很好,因此很適合用來處理您想發佈在 Instagram 的影片。

主要功能

  • 可在線上進行批次轉換

  • 非常易於使用,按幾下滑鼠就能設定並開始使用

  • 快速轉檔

  • 隱私權政策透明

優點

  • 支援批次轉換

  • 簡單

缺點

  • 缺少對某些輸出格式的支援

前往 Zamzar

最適合:可在線上轉換小型影片檔

OS:以網路為基礎

價格:免費

這是另一項能將檔案轉換為許多格式的線上服務。只需按幾下滑鼠就就能改變影片格式,而且還不需要等很久。該服務的擁有者表示,這個服務完全是安全的。如果您是 Chrome 瀏覽器的使用者,還可以考慮安裝瀏覽器擴展功能,因為那樣一來,您就能擺脫該網站所顯示的廣告了。

主要功能

  • 拖放功能

  • 每天可轉換 10 個檔案

  • 檔案會在 24 小時內從其伺服器上刪除

  • 完全免費

優點

  • 具有瀏覽器擴充程式

  • 極強的格式支援

缺點

  • 有廣告

前往 FileZigZag

摘要

希望本文已經為您提供了開啟、播放和轉換 .mov 檔案所需的所有資訊。在您離開前,這裡還有一個清單,列出了您在決定 MOV 播放器或轉換器前,需要考慮的事情。

  • 介面的易用性:文中的程式都是 MOV 檔案播放和轉換的好幫手,但每個人的喜好和能力各不相同。請多多測試,並選擇一個適合您需求的播放器或轉換器,更重要的是,其介面也要能滿足您的需求和技能水準。

  • 額外格式支援:雖然 MOV 檔案可能是您最主要的檔案格式,但還有成千上萬種其他檔案格式。使用能夠播放和轉換多種格式,對於程式而言有利無弊。

  • 可靠的評論:使用者評論在網路上隨處可見。在使用任何軟體之前,都要好好調查這些評論,確保其他人也覺得滿意。他們可能會指出一些錯誤或其他問題,是您在下載前就應該注意的。

  • 技術支援:擁有良好的技術支援是所有軟體的關鍵,當您是個初學者時,更是如此。檢查一下您想用來播放或轉換 .mov 檔案的程式是否至少提供電子郵件支援,但如果有即時聊天支援和線上說明論壇就更好了。

常見問題集

MOV 檔案格式到底是什麼?

MOV 是一種可以儲存影片、音訊、文字和虛擬實境資料的容器格式,由 Apple 所開發,且主要用於安裝有 iOS 或 macOS 的裝置上。MOV 是一種有損格式,也就是儲存在 MOV 容器中的資料會經過壓縮。

什麼是 MOV 檔,如何開啟?

MOV (或QT) 檔案是 Apple 公司所設計的一種多媒體容器檔案。要開始 .mov 檔案,最好的程式可能是 QuickTime 本身、iTunes 或 VLC,但也有許多其他播放程式都能處理 MOV。

如何將 .mov 轉換為 .mp4?

MOV 和 MP4 有很多共同點,因為兩者共享著一些基礎特性,只不過 MP4 擁有更好的支援性。如要將 MOV 轉換為 MP4,請試試 Movavi Video Converter,只要按幾下滑鼠就能搞定。以下是執行步驟教學:

註冊即可訂閱新聞並享有特惠

September 17, 2021

What Is a .mov File and How Do I Open It?

12 min

11 834

  • Create complete movies with music and effects
  • Convert and play back media files
  • Burn CDs, DVDs, and Blu-ray discs

Not sure how to open a file in the MOV format or even what it is? This article explains everything and gives you a ton of options for MOV file players.

Program

OS

Price

Movavi Video SuiteWindows, macOSFree trial, full version for $84.95
VLC media playerAlmost any systemFree
5KPlayerWindows, macOSFree
CyberLink PowerDVD 17Windows$44.99
Windows Media PlayerWindowsFree
QuickTime PlayerWindows, macOSFree
Online Video ConverterWeb-basedFree plan, paid plans from $9.95
Prism Video ConverterWindows, macOSFree
DivX Video ConverterWindows, macOSFree
ZamzarWeb-basedFree
FileZigZagWeb-basedFree

Special pick: Movavi Video Suite

Before laying out the instructions, our special pick from our list of players is Movavi Video Suite. This program allows you to play and convert between over 180 formats – including .mov – and store and find them quickly in an easy-to-use media library.

The program is great for beginners and pros and has a free trial version available. Plus, if you have a question – like how to open a .mov file? – you’ll have access to the how-to guides.

Features of the MOV format

So, what is a .mov file? .mov, along with .qt, is an extension of a QuickTime File Format (QTFF). Apple introduced this format in 1998, along with a proprietary compression algorithm for MOV files.

Files of this format are multimedia containers that consist of several tracks. Each track stores a certain type of data: audio, video, timecode, or text. It makes MOV files particularly suitable for storing movies. MOV format files are also easy to edit since they don’t require rewriting the data after editing.

This format has one major drawback – it is designed for Apple devices and is not compatible by default with earlier versions of Windows and Android devices. There are two ways of playing MOV videos on Windows and Android. You can either download a special MOV file player or convert the file to a more widely supported format, for example, to MP4. In this article, we’ll highlight both of these methods.

Pros of the MOV format

  • Lossy, but still provides high quality
  • Can contain several tracks: video, audio, subtitles
  • Good support on the Web

Cons of the MOV format

  • Was made for Apple devices, so might need additional software to be installed on Windows or Android

Best MOV file players

If you want to open an MOV file without converting it, you should use a compatible media player or any other program that allows video playback. Default media players of Apple devices and Windows 10 computers are able to play MOV files without any additional plugins. But what if the interface of these programs is inconvenient for you, or they don’t have as many functions as you want? You can download a more advanced media player. So, what software opens MOV files? Here are some examples of such programs:

Best for: Users who want total functionality with their videos

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free trial, full version for $84.95

TrustedBay rating: 4.9 out of 5

Movavi Video Suite is not just a program. It’s a single interface for a batch of programs for editing, converting, and viewing multimedia files. Among other useful software, it contains a video converter and a media player that can open MOV files.

The player supports a wide range of video and audio formats and is also able to change the contrast and brightness of the video and add subtitles from a file. Download this software and try all its tools for free during the trial period.

Key features:

  • Plays and converts videos in over 180+ with no loss of quality
  • Has presets for over 200+ devices
  • Very fast video processing – even in 4K and Full HD

Pros:

  • Very simple
  • Loads of functions (converting, editing, burning, etc.)
  • Great format support

Cons:

  • Only the trial version is free

Best for: Users who work on multiple OSs

OS: Almost any system

Price: Free

TechRadar rating: 4.5 out of 5

VLC is a multimedia player that supports not only opening various video files but also converting them to another format. This extremely popular software was downloaded more than 42 million times, according to the information on the official website. VLC supports an impressive amount of video formats, including MP4, MOV, Real Video, and 3ivX D4. This software is available for both Mac and Windows.

Key features:

  • Available on literally every OS, including Linux, Unix, and mobile OSs
  • Plays nearly any codec without downloading a codec pack
  • Open-source software
  • Totally free and has no adware, spyware, etc.

Pros:

  • One of the best programs to open .mov files on Linux, Solaris, and some other systems
  • Free of charge

Cons:

  • The interface might seem complicated for a beginner

Download VLC

Best for: Users who want to play ultra high-quality videos

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

TechTimes review

This media player is supplied with an embedded video cutter and can play a large number of video and audio formats. 5KPlayer supports over 450 formats and codecs, including MOV, MP4, HEVC, etc. It means that you don’t have to install any additional codecs to watch your favorite movie in a preferred format. It can also open 4K videos and play them without blurring, color distortion, and any other glitches. According to the program’s official website, 5KPlayer is available for free.

Key features:

  • Plays both 4K and 1080p and also 360° video
  • Also plays a wide range of audio formats
  • Has streaming connectivity with many devices with no loss of quality
  • Download videos from over 300 sites directly from the platform

Pros:

  • Free of charge
  • Can download videos from YouTube

Cons:

  • Might install a third-party software

Download 5KPlayer

Best for: Users who want to watch Ultra HD Blu-ray and YouTube videos offline

OS: Windows

Price: $44.99

PCMag rating: 4 out of 5

This powerful software is designed to play high-quality videos like 4K, HD, or Blu-ray. It also supports videos of up to 240 fps. With this software, you can create your own cinema at home: it has many features to enhance a video to make it look better. The TV mode allows you to watch movies on a big screen – just connect your TV to a computer with this player installed.

Key features:

  • Access to cinema-quality sound functions
  • Casing capabilities to Roku, AppleTv, and ChromeCast
  • Ability to pin and watch YouTube videos offline
  • Enhances SDR videos to HDR

Pros:

  • Direct playback for ISO files
  • Can make a bookmark in a video to get back to it later

Cons:

  • Not available on Macs

Download CyberLink PowerDVD

Best for: Windows users looking for an affordable option

OS: Windows

Price: Free

PCMag rating: 4 out of 5

This program is probably the most well-known because of the popularity of OS Windows. It is one of the built-in apps in this OS. The very first version of Windows Media Player appeared in 1991, and since then, it has become increasingly functional. Nowadays, it is not only a player but a media organizer. It helps to sort all your audio, video, and images so that you can find everything you need in just a few clicks.

Key features:

  • Integrates with your iTunes library – plays unprotected files
  • Minimalist interface in Now Playing mode
  • Syncing functionality with multiple devices

Pros:

  • Free of charge
  • A good file organizer

Cons:

  • Might require additional codecs for some file types

Download Windows Media Player

Best for: Mac users looking for an affordable option

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

MacUpdate rating: 3.5 out of 5, 166 reviews

This MOV file player developed by Apple is a handy app that can open and play videos with sound and subtitles. Moreover, it can record a video or audio file making this program even more useful as far as other players don’t have such a function. Unfortunately, Apple stopped supporting the Windows version of this player, so its great functionality is now available for Mac users only.

Key features:

  • Has basic editing functionality
  • Allows screen recording on your Mac
  • Video compression capabilities
  • Plays online video files without having to download them

Pros:

  • Has editing options
  • Can record videos

Cons:

  • New versions are available for macOS only

Download QuickTime Player

There’s also a way to watch MOV videos on any computer or even a mobile device with Google Drive. To use this method, you need to upload the video to Google Drive. This cloud storage lets you open MOV files in any browser on your PC or play them on a smartphone through its mobile app.

How to convert an MOV video

Your favorite video reader may require special codecs to play MOV files, or it might not play these files at all. Instead of downloading an MOV viewer that might be less intuitive and inconvenient for you, try converting MOV to another, more appropriate format. To do so, you’ll need to use a file converter. Almost any converter can change MOV to AVI, MP4, and WMV.

If you need to extract the sound from the MOV file and save it in an audio format, a video converter usually can do it too. Take a look at several examples of video converting software for changing MOV to another format. Please note: in this list of the best software for MOV files, only the basic versions are free; the extended ones require payment.

Best for: Users who want to convert small MOV files

OS: Web-based

Price: Free plan, paid plans from $9.95

As you can guess from its name, this video converter is an online service that allows you to convert audio and video files. It doesn’t have as many formats for conversion as any of the desktop converters, but you don’t have to download any suspicious freeware or shareware. Another drawback of this online converter is a file size restriction. To sum up, Online Video Converter is a great choice for conversion only if you need to convert a single video to a popular format. This service is free to use.

Key features:

  • No installation necessary
  • Safe encoding that’s deleted from their servers
  • DropBox and Google Drive support
  • Compression options

Pros:

  • Simple even for newcomers
  • Good format support
  • No restrictions on daily conversions

Cons:

  • The file size is limited

Go to Online Video Converter

Best for: Users who want to access MOV files and convert them later

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

Prism Video Converter is a free video converter with which you can easily compress or convert videos. According to the information on the official website, the program supports a large number of video formats, including MOV, MP4, AVI, WMV, and FLV. The program supports batch conversion so you can convert all the desired videos at once. You can use the free version of the program only for non-commercial purposes.

Key features:

  • Ability to upload and share into social media and cloud storage directly from the interface
  • Supports tons of formats
  • Conversion of individual or batch conversion
  • No quality loss when you convert

Pros:

  • Many formats supported
  • Can burn discs

Cons:

  • The performance might depend on hardware

Download Prism Video Converter

Best for: Users who want casting capabilities

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

DivX is a video converting program that allows you to convert your media files to another format. DivX Video Converter’s drag-and-drop interface seems simple and convenient. This software has a number of highly useful features. The most prominent are: the ability to adjust the balance between the conversion speed and the quality of the output video, the ability to set the bitrate of a video and basic video editing tools. DivX Video Converter is presented in two versions: a free version and a pro version.

Key features:

  • Connects directly to cloud storage like DropBox and Google Drive
  • Can add chapter points to your videos
  • Casting functionality to DLNA-compatible devices
  • Editing and transcoding capabilities

Pros:

  • Has an editing option
  • Minimalistic interface with nothing needless

Cons:

  • Some users complain about freezes

Download DivX Video Converter

Best for: Converting small files from MOV but not to MOV

OS: Web-based

Price: Free

Zamzar is a great service that can easily convert your files to a popular format. It works with batches of files, has several presets for various devices, and has a clear interface. The free version allows you to transform files up to 50 MB in size, and after conversion, files are stored for 24 hours. The storing option is available for users who are signed in. In its free edition, Zamzar doesn’t suit for converting movies, but it works well with small videos like those you would like to post to Instagram.

Key features:

  • Has online batch conversions
  • Very easy to use – just a few clicks to set up and start
  • Fast conversions
  • Transparent privacy policy

Pros:

  • Supports batch conversion
  • Simple

Cons:

  • Lacks support for some output formats

Go to Zamzar

Best for: Converting small video files online

OS: Web-based

Price: Free

This is another online service capable of converting your files to many formats. You can transform your video in just a few clicks without waiting for a long time. Owners of the service state that it is completely safe. If you’re a Chrome user, you can also install the browser extension that might be an option because the website shows ads.

Key features:

  • Drag and drop capability
  • Converts up to 10 files per day
  • Files delete in 24 hours from their servers
  • Completely free

Pros:

  • Has a browser extension
  • Great format support

Cons:

  • Has ads

Go to FileZigZag

Summary

Hopefully, this article has given you all the information you need to open, play, and convert .mov files. Before you move on, here’s a list of things to consider before choosing a MOV player or converter.

  • Easy-to-use interface: The programs above are all great for playing or converting MOV files, but everyone has different preferences and abilities. Test and choose a player or converter that suits your needs and has an interface that works well with your needs and skill level.
  • Additional formats: Although MOV files may be your primary file format, there are thousands of others out there. It’s a good idea to use programs that play and convert in a wide range of formats.
  • Solid reviews: User reviews are available all over the web. Do your due diligence before using any software and be sure that others are satisfied with it. They might point out some bugs or other issues you should be aware of before downloading.
  • Support: Having good support is key for any software – especially if you’re a beginner. Check to see that the program you want to use to play or convert .mov files offers at least email support, but live chat and online help forums are even better.

Ben Jacklin

Ben is a writer from the UK with qualifications in Media and Music Technology, he specialises in software reviews and tutorials. Ben has been blogging about media and tech subjects since he was a teenager from his base in the East of England.

Frequently asked questions

What does the MOV file format stand for?

MOV is a container format that can store video, audio, text, and virtual reality data. MOV is developed by Apple and is primarily used on devices with iOS or macOS installed. It is a lossy format: the data which is stored in the MOV container is compressed.

What is an MOV file and how do you open it?

An MOV (or QT) file stands for a multimedia container file designed by Apple. The best programs to open .mov files are probably QuickTime itself, iTunes, VLC, but there are many other players that can process MOVs.

How do I convert .mov to .mp4?

MOV and MP4 have much in common because they share some basics, but MP4 has better support. If you need to convert your MOVs to MP4s, try Movavi Video Converter and get your job done in just a few clicks. Here’s how to perform it: