Qu'est-ce qu'un fichier .mov et comment l'ouvrir ?

Essayez Movavi Video Suite :

  • Créez des films complets avec de la musique et des effets
  • Convertir et lire des fichiers multimédias
  • Gravure de CD, DVD et disques Blu-ray

Vous ne savez pas comment ouvrir un fichier au format MOV ou même ce que c'est ? Cet article explique tout et vous donne une tonne d'options pour les lecteurs de fichiers MOV.

Programme

OS

Prix

Windows, macOS

Essai gratuit, version complète pour $94.95

Presque tous les systèmes

Gratuit

Windows, macOS

Gratuit

Afficher plus

Choix spécial : Movavi Video Suite

Avant d'exposer les instructions, notre choix spécial dans notre liste de lecteurs est Movavi Video Suite. Ce programme vous permet de lire et de convertir plus de 180 formats, dont le format .mov, et de les stocker et retrouver rapidement dans une bibliothèque multimédia facile à utiliser.

Ce programme est idéal pour les débutants et les professionnels et dispose d'une version d'essai gratuite. De plus, si vous avez une question - par exemple, comment ouvrir un fichier .mov ? - vous aurez accès aux guides pratiques.

Caractéristiques du format MOV

Alors, qu'est-ce qu'un fichier .mov ? .mov, tout comme .qt, est une extension du format de fichier QuickTime (QTFF). Apple a introduit ce format en 1998, ainsi qu'un algorithme de compression propriétaire pour les fichiers MOV.

Les fichiers de ce format sont des conteneurs multimédias qui se composent de plusieurs pistes. Chaque piste stocke un certain type de données : audio, vidéo, timecode ou texte. Cela rend les fichiers MOV particulièrement adaptés au stockage de films. Les fichiers au format MOV sont également faciles à modifier car ils ne nécessitent pas de réécrire les données après l'édition.

Ce format présente un inconvénient majeur : il est conçu pour les appareils Apple et n'est pas compatible par défaut avec les versions antérieures des appareils Windows et Android. Il existe deux façons de lire des vidéos MOV sur Windows et Android. Vous pouvez soit télécharger un lecteur spécial de fichiers MOV, soit convertir le fichier dans un format plus largement pris en charge, par exemple en MP4. Dans cet article, nous allons présenter ces deux méthodes.

Les avantages du format MOV

  • Perte de données, mais offre néanmoins une qualité élevée

  • Peut contenir plusieurs pistes : vidéo, audio, sous-titres

  • Bon support sur le Web

Les inconvénients du format MOV

  • Conçu pour les appareils Apple, il peut nécessiter l'installation d'un logiciel supplémentaire sur les appareils Windows ou Android.

Les meilleurs lecteurs de fichiers MOV

Si vous souhaitez ouvrir un fichier MOV sans le convertir, vous devez utiliser un lecteur multimédia compatible ou tout autre programme permettant la lecture de vidéos. Les lecteurs multimédias par défaut des appareils Apple et des ordinateurs Windows 10 sont capables de lire les fichiers MOV sans plugins supplémentaires. Mais que faire si l'interface de ces programmes ne vous convient pas ou s'ils ne disposent pas d'autant de fonctions que vous le souhaitez ? Vous pouvez télécharger un lecteur multimédia plus avancé. Alors, quel logiciel peut ouvrir les fichiers MOV ? Voici quelques exemples de tels programmes :

Idéal pour : Les utilisateurs qui veulent une fonctionnalité totale pour leurs vidéos

OS : Windows, macOS

Prix : Essai gratuit, version complète pour $94.95

Movavi Video Suite n'est pas seulement un programme. Il s'agit d'une interface unique pour un lot de programmes permettant d'éditer, de convertir et de visualiser des fichiers multimédia. Entre autres logiciels utiles, il contient un convertisseur vidéo et un lecteur multimédia capable d'ouvrir des fichiers MOV.

Le lecteur prend en charge un large éventail de formats vidéo et audio et est également capable de modifier le contraste et la luminosité de la vidéo et d'ajouter des sous-titres à partir d'un fichier. Téléchargez ce logiciel et essayez tous ses outils gratuitement pendant la période d'essai.

Principales caractéristiques :

  • Lit et convertit des vidéos dans plus de 180 formats sans perte de qualité.

  • Préréglages pour plus de 200 appareils

  • Traitement vidéo très rapide - même en 4K et Full HD

Avantages :

  • Très simple

  • Nombreuses fonctions (conversion, montage, gravure, etc.)

  • Prise en charge de nombreux formats

Inconvénients :

  • Seule la version d'essai est gratuite

Idéal pour : Les utilisateurs qui travaillent sur plusieurs systèmes d'exploitation

OS : Presque tous les systèmes

Prix : Gratuit

VLC est un lecteur multimédia qui permet non seulement d'ouvrir divers fichiers vidéo mais aussi de les convertir dans un autre format. Ce logiciel extrêmement populaire a été téléchargé plus de 42 millions de fois, selon les informations figurant sur le site officiel. VLC prend en charge une quantité impressionnante de formats vidéo, notamment MP4, MOV, Real Video et 3ivX D4. Ce logiciel est disponible à la fois pour Mac et Windows.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Disponible sur tous les systèmes d'exploitation, y compris Linux, Unix et les systèmes d'exploitation mobiles.

  • Lit presque tous les codecs sans avoir à télécharger un pack de codecs.

  • Logiciel open-source

  • Totalement gratuit et sans adware, spyware, etc.

Avantages :

  • L'un des meilleurs programmes pour ouvrir les fichiers .mov sur Linux, Solaris et d'autres systèmes.

  • Gratuit

Inconvénients :

  • L'interface peut sembler compliquée pour un débutant

Télécharger VLC

Idéal pour : Les utilisateurs qui veulent lire des vidéos de très haute qualité

OS : Windows, macOS

Prix : Gratuit

Ce lecteur multimédia est fourni avec un découpeur vidéo intégré et peut lire un grand nombre de formats vidéo et audio. 5KPlayer prend en charge plus de 450 formats et codecs, notamment MOV, MP4, HEVC, etc. Cela signifie que vous n'avez pas besoin d'installer des codecs supplémentaires pour regarder votre film préféré dans un format préféré. Il peut également ouvrir des vidéos 4K et les lire sans flou, sans distorsion des couleurs et sans aucun autre pépin. Selon le site officiel du programme, 5KPlayer est disponible gratuitement.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Lecture de vidéos 4K, 1080p et 360°.

  • Lit également un large éventail de formats audio

  • Connectivité de streaming avec de nombreux appareils, sans perte de qualité.

  • Téléchargez des vidéos de plus de 300 sites directement depuis la plateforme

Avantages :

  • Gratuit

  • Peut télécharger des vidéos depuis YouTube

Inconvénients :

  • Possibilité d'installer un logiciel tiers

Télécharger 5KPlayer

Idéal pour : Les utilisateurs qui veulent regarder des Blu-ray Ultra HD et des vidéos YouTube hors ligne.

OS : Windows

Prix : $44.99

Ce puissant logiciel est conçu pour lire des vidéos de haute qualité comme 4K, HD ou Blu-ray. Il prend également en charge les vidéos jusqu'à 240 fps. Avec ce logiciel, vous pouvez créer votre propre cinéma à la maison : il dispose de nombreuses fonctionnalités pour améliorer une vidéo afin de la rendre plus belle. Le mode TV vous permet de regarder des films sur un grand écran : il suffit de connecter votre téléviseur à un ordinateur sur lequel ce lecteur est installé.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Accès aux fonctions de son de qualité cinéma

  • Capacités de connexion à Roku, AppleTv, et ChromeCast

  • Possibilité d'épingler et de regarder des vidéos YouTube hors ligne

  • Amélioration des vidéos SDR en HDR

Avantages :

  • Lecture directe pour les fichiers ISO

  • Possibilité de créer un signet dans une vidéo pour y revenir plus tard

Inconvénients :

  • Non disponible sur les Macs

Télécharger CyberLink PowerDVD

Idéal pour : les utilisateurs à 45 % qui recherchent une option abordable

OS : Windows

Prix : Gratuit

Ce programme est probablement le plus connu en raison de la popularité de l'OS Windows. Il s'agit de l'une des applications intégrées à ce système d'exploitation. La toute première version de Windows Media Player est apparue en 1991, et depuis lors, il est devenu de plus en plus fonctionnel. Aujourd'hui, ce n'est pas seulement un lecteur mais aussi un organisateur de médias. Il aide à trier tous vos fichiers audio, vidéo et images afin que vous puissiez trouver tout ce dont vous avez besoin en quelques clics seulement.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • S'intègre à votre bibliothèque iTunes - lit les fichiers non protégés

  • Interface minimaliste en mode Now Playing

  • Fonctionnalité de synchronisation avec plusieurs appareils

Avantages :

  • Gratuit

  • Un bon organisateur de fichiers

Inconvénients :

  • Peut nécessiter des codecs supplémentaires pour certains types de fichiers

Télécharger Windows Media Player

Idéal pour : Utilisateurs de Mac à la recherche d'une option abordable

OS : Windows, macOS

Prix : Gratuit

Note de MacUpdate : 3,5 sur 5, 166 commentaires

Ce lecteur de fichiers MOV développé par Apple est une application pratique qui peut ouvrir et lire des vidéos avec du son et des sous-titres. De plus, il peut enregistrer un fichier vidéo ou audio, ce qui rend ce programme encore plus utile dans la mesure où les autres lecteurs ne disposent pas d'une telle fonction. Malheureusement, Apple a cessé de prendre en charge la version Windows de ce lecteur, de sorte que sa grande fonctionnalité est désormais disponible pour les utilisateurs de Mac uniquement.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Fonctions d'édition de base

  • Permet l'enregistrement d'écran sur votre Mac

  • Capacités de compression vidéo

  • Lit les fichiers vidéo en ligne sans avoir à les télécharger.

Avantages :

  • Options d'édition

  • Peut enregistrer des vidéos

Inconvénients :

  • Les nouvelles versions sont disponibles pour macOS uniquement

Télécharger QuickTime Player

Il existe également un moyen de regarder des vidéos MOV sur n'importe quel ordinateur ou même un appareil mobile avec Google Drive. Pour utiliser cette méthode, vous devez télécharger la vidéo sur Google Drive. Ce stockage en nuage vous permet d'ouvrir les fichiers MOV dans n'importe quel navigateur sur votre PC ou de les lire sur un smartphone grâce à son application mobile.

Comment convertir une vidéo MOV

Votre lecteur vidéo préféré peut nécessiter des codecs spéciaux pour lire les fichiers MOV, ou bien il peut ne pas lire ces fichiers du tout. Au lieu de télécharger une visionneuse MOV qui pourrait être moins intuitive et peu pratique pour vous, essayez de convertir MOV dans un autre format plus approprié. Pour ce faire, vous devrez utiliser un convertisseur de fichiers. Presque tous les convertisseurs peuvent convertir les MOV en AVI, MP4 et WMV.

Si vous devez extraire le son du fichier MOV et l'enregistrer dans un format audio, un convertisseur vidéo peut généralement le faire aussi. Jetez un coup d'œil à plusieurs exemples de logiciels de conversion vidéo pour changer le MOV en un autre format. Remarque : dans cette liste des meilleurs logiciels pour les fichiers MOV, seules les versions de base sont gratuites ; les versions étendues sont payantes.

Idéal pour : Les utilisateurs qui veulent convertir de petits fichiers MOV

Système d'exploitation : basé sur le Web

Prix : Plan gratuit, plans payants à partir de 9,95 $.

Comme vous pouvez le deviner d'après son nom, ce convertisseur vidéo est un service en ligne qui vous permet de convertir des fichiers audio et vidéo. Il ne propose pas autant de formats de conversion que les autres convertisseurs de bureau, mais vous n'avez pas à télécharger de freeware ou shareware suspect. Un autre inconvénient de ce convertisseur en ligne est la restriction de la taille des fichiers. Pour résumer, Online Video Converter est un excellent choix pour la conversion uniquement si vous avez besoin de convertir une seule vidéo dans un format populaire. L'utilisation de ce service est gratuite.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Aucune installation nécessaire

  • Encodage sûr qui est supprimé de leurs serveurs

  • Support de DropBox et Google Drive

  • Options de compression

Avantages :

  • Simple, même pour les nouveaux venus

  • Bonne prise en charge des formats

  • Aucune restriction sur les conversions quotidiennes

Inconvénients :

  • La taille des fichiers est limitée

Idéal pour : Utilisateurs qui veulent accéder aux fichiers MOV et les convertir plus tard

OS : Windows, macOS

Prix : Gratuit

Prism Video Converter est un convertisseur vidéo gratuit avec lequel vous pouvez facilement compresser ou convertir des vidéos. Selon les informations figurant sur le site officiel, le programme prend en charge un grand nombre de formats vidéo, notamment MOV, MP4, AVI, WMV et FLV. Le programme prend en charge la conversion par lots afin que vous puissiez convertir toutes les vidéos souhaitées en une seule fois. Vous pouvez utiliser la version gratuite du programme uniquement à des fins non commerciales.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Possibilité de télécharger et de partager dans les médias sociaux et le stockage en nuage directement à partir de l'interface.

  • Prise en charge de tonnes de formats

  • Conversion individuelle ou par lots

  • Aucune perte de qualité lors de la conversion

Avantages :

  • Prise en charge de nombreux formats

  • Possibilité de graver des disques

Inconvénients :

  • Les performances peuvent dépendre du matériel

Télécharger Prism Video Converter

Idéal pour : Les utilisateurs qui veulent des fonctionnalités de casting

OS : Windows, macOS

Prix : Gratuit

DivX est un programme de conversion vidéo qui vous permet de convertir vos fichiers multimédias dans un autre format. L'interface par glisser-déposer de DivX Video Converter semble simple et pratique. Ce logiciel dispose d'un certain nombre de fonctionnalités très utiles. Les plus importantes sont : la possibilité de régler l'équilibre entre la vitesse de conversion et la qualité de la vidéo de sortie, la possibilité de définir le débit binaire d'une vidéo et des outils de montage vidéo de base. DivX Video Converter est présenté en deux versions : une version gratuite et une version pro.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Se connecte directement au stockage en nuage comme DropBox et Google Drive

  • Possibilité d'ajouter des points de chapitre à vos vidéos

  • Fonction de diffusion vers des appareils compatibles DLNA

  • Fonctions de montage et de transcodage

Avantages :

  • Dispose d'une option d'édition

  • Interface minimaliste, sans superflu

Inconvénients :

  • Certains utilisateurs se plaignent de blocages

Télécharger DivX Video Converter

Idéal pour : Convertir des petits fichiers depuis MOV mais pas vers MOV

Système d'exploitation : basé sur le Web

Prix : Gratuit

Zamzar est un excellent service qui permet de convertir facilement vos fichiers dans un format populaire. Il fonctionne avec des lots de fichiers, dispose de plusieurs préréglages pour différents appareils et possède une interface claire. La version gratuite vous permet de transformer des fichiers d'une taille maximale de 50 Mo et, après la conversion, les fichiers sont stockés pendant 24 heures. L'option de stockage est disponible pour les utilisateurs qui sont connectés. Dans son édition gratuite, Zamzar ne convient pas pour convertir des films, mais il fonctionne bien avec les petites vidéos comme celles que vous souhaitez poster sur Instagram.

Principales caractéristiques :

  • Conversion par lots en ligne

  • Très facile à utiliser - il suffit de quelques clics pour le configurer et le lancer.

  • Convertissements rapides

  • Politique de confidentialité transparente

Avantages :

  • Prise en charge de la conversion par lots

  • Simple

Inconvénients :

  • Manque de support pour certains formats de sortie

Aller à Zamzar

Idéal pour : Convertir de petits fichiers vidéo en ligne

Système d'exploitation : basé sur le Web

Prix : Gratuit

C'est un autre service en ligne capable de convertir vos fichiers dans de nombreux formats. Vous pouvez transformer votre vidéo en quelques clics sans attendre longtemps. Les propriétaires de ce service affirment qu'il est totalement sûr. Si vous êtes un utilisateur de Chrome, vous pouvez également installer l'extension de navigateur qui pourrait être une option car le site web montre des publicités.

Caractéristiques principales :

  • Possibilité de glisser-déposer

  • Convertit jusqu'à 10 fichiers par jour

  • Fichiers supprimés en 24 heures depuis leurs serveurs

  • Entièrement gratuit

Avantages :

  • Extension pour navigateur

  • Prise en charge de nombreux formats

Inconvénients :

  • Présence de publicités

Aller à FileZigZag

Résumé

Nous espérons que cet article vous a donné toutes les informations dont vous avez besoin pour ouvrir, lire et convertir des fichiers .mov. Avant de poursuivre, voici une liste d'éléments à prendre en compte avant de choisir un lecteur ou un convertisseur MOV.

  • Interface facile à utiliser : Les programmes ci-dessus sont tous excellents pour lire ou convertir des fichiers MOV, mais chacun a des préférences et des capacités différentes. Testez et choisissez un lecteur ou un convertisseur qui vous convient et dont l'interface s'adapte bien à vos besoins et à votre niveau de compétence.

  • Formats supplémentaires : Bien que les fichiers MOV puissent être votre format de fichier principal, il en existe des milliers d'autres. C'est une bonne idée d'utiliser des programmes qui lisent et convertissent dans un large éventail de formats.

  • Des avis solides : Les avis des utilisateurs sont disponibles partout sur le Web. Faites preuve de diligence raisonnable avant d'utiliser un logiciel et assurez-vous que d'autres personnes en sont satisfaites. Ils peuvent signaler des bogues ou d'autres problèmes dont vous devez être conscient avant de le télécharger.

  • Assistance : Un bon support est essentiel pour tout logiciel, surtout si vous êtes un débutant. Vérifiez que le programme que vous souhaitez utiliser pour lire ou convertir des fichiers .mov offre au moins un support par e-mail, mais un chat en direct et des forums d'aide en ligne sont encore mieux.

Foire aux questions

À quoi correspond le format de fichier MOV ?

MOV est un format de conteneur qui peut stocker des données vidéo, audio, texte et de réalité virtuelle. MOV est développé par Apple et est principalement utilisé sur les appareils sur lesquels est installé iOS ou macOS. Il s'agit d'un format avec perte : les données qui sont stockées dans le conteneur MOV sont compressées.

Qu'est-ce qu'un fichier MOV et comment l'ouvrir ?

Un fichier MOV (ou QT) est un fichier conteneur multimédia conçu par Apple. Les meilleurs programmes pour ouvrir les fichiers .mov sont probablement QuickTime lui-même, iTunes, VLC, mais il existe de nombreux autres lecteurs qui peuvent traiter les MOV.

Comment convertir un .mov en .mp4 ?

MOV et MP4 ont beaucoup en commun car ils partagent certaines bases, mais MP4 a un meilleur support. Si vous avez besoin de convertir vos MOV en MP4, essayez Movavi Video Converter et faites votre travail en quelques clics. Voici comment procéder :

Avez-vous des questions ?

Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse à votre question, n'hésitez pas à contacter notre équipe d'assistance.

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir des actualités et des offres spéciales

September 17, 2021

What Is a .mov File and How Do I Open It?

12 min

11 834

  • Create complete movies with music and effects
  • Convert and play back media files
  • Burn CDs, DVDs, and Blu-ray discs

Not sure how to open a file in the MOV format or even what it is? This article explains everything and gives you a ton of options for MOV file players.

Program

OS

Price

Movavi Video SuiteWindows, macOSFree trial, full version for $84.95
VLC media playerAlmost any systemFree
5KPlayerWindows, macOSFree
CyberLink PowerDVD 17Windows$44.99
Windows Media PlayerWindowsFree
QuickTime PlayerWindows, macOSFree
Online Video ConverterWeb-basedFree plan, paid plans from $9.95
Prism Video ConverterWindows, macOSFree
DivX Video ConverterWindows, macOSFree
ZamzarWeb-basedFree
FileZigZagWeb-basedFree

Special pick: Movavi Video Suite

Before laying out the instructions, our special pick from our list of players is Movavi Video Suite. This program allows you to play and convert between over 180 formats – including .mov – and store and find them quickly in an easy-to-use media library.

The program is great for beginners and pros and has a free trial version available. Plus, if you have a question – like how to open a .mov file? – you’ll have access to the how-to guides.

Features of the MOV format

So, what is a .mov file? .mov, along with .qt, is an extension of a QuickTime File Format (QTFF). Apple introduced this format in 1998, along with a proprietary compression algorithm for MOV files.

Files of this format are multimedia containers that consist of several tracks. Each track stores a certain type of data: audio, video, timecode, or text. It makes MOV files particularly suitable for storing movies. MOV format files are also easy to edit since they don’t require rewriting the data after editing.

This format has one major drawback – it is designed for Apple devices and is not compatible by default with earlier versions of Windows and Android devices. There are two ways of playing MOV videos on Windows and Android. You can either download a special MOV file player or convert the file to a more widely supported format, for example, to MP4. In this article, we’ll highlight both of these methods.

Pros of the MOV format

  • Lossy, but still provides high quality
  • Can contain several tracks: video, audio, subtitles
  • Good support on the Web

Cons of the MOV format

  • Was made for Apple devices, so might need additional software to be installed on Windows or Android

Best MOV file players

If you want to open an MOV file without converting it, you should use a compatible media player or any other program that allows video playback. Default media players of Apple devices and Windows 10 computers are able to play MOV files without any additional plugins. But what if the interface of these programs is inconvenient for you, or they don’t have as many functions as you want? You can download a more advanced media player. So, what software opens MOV files? Here are some examples of such programs:

Best for: Users who want total functionality with their videos

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free trial, full version for $84.95

TrustedBay rating: 4.9 out of 5

Movavi Video Suite is not just a program. It’s a single interface for a batch of programs for editing, converting, and viewing multimedia files. Among other useful software, it contains a video converter and a media player that can open MOV files.

The player supports a wide range of video and audio formats and is also able to change the contrast and brightness of the video and add subtitles from a file. Download this software and try all its tools for free during the trial period.

Key features:

  • Plays and converts videos in over 180+ with no loss of quality
  • Has presets for over 200+ devices
  • Very fast video processing – even in 4K and Full HD

Pros:

  • Very simple
  • Loads of functions (converting, editing, burning, etc.)
  • Great format support

Cons:

  • Only the trial version is free

Best for: Users who work on multiple OSs

OS: Almost any system

Price: Free

TechRadar rating: 4.5 out of 5

VLC is a multimedia player that supports not only opening various video files but also converting them to another format. This extremely popular software was downloaded more than 42 million times, according to the information on the official website. VLC supports an impressive amount of video formats, including MP4, MOV, Real Video, and 3ivX D4. This software is available for both Mac and Windows.

Key features:

  • Available on literally every OS, including Linux, Unix, and mobile OSs
  • Plays nearly any codec without downloading a codec pack
  • Open-source software
  • Totally free and has no adware, spyware, etc.

Pros:

  • One of the best programs to open .mov files on Linux, Solaris, and some other systems
  • Free of charge

Cons:

  • The interface might seem complicated for a beginner

Download VLC

Best for: Users who want to play ultra high-quality videos

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

TechTimes review

This media player is supplied with an embedded video cutter and can play a large number of video and audio formats. 5KPlayer supports over 450 formats and codecs, including MOV, MP4, HEVC, etc. It means that you don’t have to install any additional codecs to watch your favorite movie in a preferred format. It can also open 4K videos and play them without blurring, color distortion, and any other glitches. According to the program’s official website, 5KPlayer is available for free.

Key features:

  • Plays both 4K and 1080p and also 360° video
  • Also plays a wide range of audio formats
  • Has streaming connectivity with many devices with no loss of quality
  • Download videos from over 300 sites directly from the platform

Pros:

  • Free of charge
  • Can download videos from YouTube

Cons:

  • Might install a third-party software

Download 5KPlayer

Best for: Users who want to watch Ultra HD Blu-ray and YouTube videos offline

OS: Windows

Price: $44.99

PCMag rating: 4 out of 5

This powerful software is designed to play high-quality videos like 4K, HD, or Blu-ray. It also supports videos of up to 240 fps. With this software, you can create your own cinema at home: it has many features to enhance a video to make it look better. The TV mode allows you to watch movies on a big screen – just connect your TV to a computer with this player installed.

Key features:

  • Access to cinema-quality sound functions
  • Casing capabilities to Roku, AppleTv, and ChromeCast
  • Ability to pin and watch YouTube videos offline
  • Enhances SDR videos to HDR

Pros:

  • Direct playback for ISO files
  • Can make a bookmark in a video to get back to it later

Cons:

  • Not available on Macs

Download CyberLink PowerDVD

Best for: Windows users looking for an affordable option

OS: Windows

Price: Free

PCMag rating: 4 out of 5

This program is probably the most well-known because of the popularity of OS Windows. It is one of the built-in apps in this OS. The very first version of Windows Media Player appeared in 1991, and since then, it has become increasingly functional. Nowadays, it is not only a player but a media organizer. It helps to sort all your audio, video, and images so that you can find everything you need in just a few clicks.

Key features:

  • Integrates with your iTunes library – plays unprotected files
  • Minimalist interface in Now Playing mode
  • Syncing functionality with multiple devices

Pros:

  • Free of charge
  • A good file organizer

Cons:

  • Might require additional codecs for some file types

Download Windows Media Player

Best for: Mac users looking for an affordable option

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

MacUpdate rating: 3.5 out of 5, 166 reviews

This MOV file player developed by Apple is a handy app that can open and play videos with sound and subtitles. Moreover, it can record a video or audio file making this program even more useful as far as other players don’t have such a function. Unfortunately, Apple stopped supporting the Windows version of this player, so its great functionality is now available for Mac users only.

Key features:

  • Has basic editing functionality
  • Allows screen recording on your Mac
  • Video compression capabilities
  • Plays online video files without having to download them

Pros:

  • Has editing options
  • Can record videos

Cons:

  • New versions are available for macOS only

Download QuickTime Player

There’s also a way to watch MOV videos on any computer or even a mobile device with Google Drive. To use this method, you need to upload the video to Google Drive. This cloud storage lets you open MOV files in any browser on your PC or play them on a smartphone through its mobile app.

How to convert an MOV video

Your favorite video reader may require special codecs to play MOV files, or it might not play these files at all. Instead of downloading an MOV viewer that might be less intuitive and inconvenient for you, try converting MOV to another, more appropriate format. To do so, you’ll need to use a file converter. Almost any converter can change MOV to AVI, MP4, and WMV.

If you need to extract the sound from the MOV file and save it in an audio format, a video converter usually can do it too. Take a look at several examples of video converting software for changing MOV to another format. Please note: in this list of the best software for MOV files, only the basic versions are free; the extended ones require payment.

Best for: Users who want to convert small MOV files

OS: Web-based

Price: Free plan, paid plans from $9.95

As you can guess from its name, this video converter is an online service that allows you to convert audio and video files. It doesn’t have as many formats for conversion as any of the desktop converters, but you don’t have to download any suspicious freeware or shareware. Another drawback of this online converter is a file size restriction. To sum up, Online Video Converter is a great choice for conversion only if you need to convert a single video to a popular format. This service is free to use.

Key features:

  • No installation necessary
  • Safe encoding that’s deleted from their servers
  • DropBox and Google Drive support
  • Compression options

Pros:

  • Simple even for newcomers
  • Good format support
  • No restrictions on daily conversions

Cons:

  • The file size is limited

Go to Online Video Converter

Best for: Users who want to access MOV files and convert them later

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

Prism Video Converter is a free video converter with which you can easily compress or convert videos. According to the information on the official website, the program supports a large number of video formats, including MOV, MP4, AVI, WMV, and FLV. The program supports batch conversion so you can convert all the desired videos at once. You can use the free version of the program only for non-commercial purposes.

Key features:

  • Ability to upload and share into social media and cloud storage directly from the interface
  • Supports tons of formats
  • Conversion of individual or batch conversion
  • No quality loss when you convert

Pros:

  • Many formats supported
  • Can burn discs

Cons:

  • The performance might depend on hardware

Download Prism Video Converter

Best for: Users who want casting capabilities

OS: Windows, macOS

Price: Free

DivX is a video converting program that allows you to convert your media files to another format. DivX Video Converter’s drag-and-drop interface seems simple and convenient. This software has a number of highly useful features. The most prominent are: the ability to adjust the balance between the conversion speed and the quality of the output video, the ability to set the bitrate of a video and basic video editing tools. DivX Video Converter is presented in two versions: a free version and a pro version.

Key features:

  • Connects directly to cloud storage like DropBox and Google Drive
  • Can add chapter points to your videos
  • Casting functionality to DLNA-compatible devices
  • Editing and transcoding capabilities

Pros:

  • Has an editing option
  • Minimalistic interface with nothing needless

Cons:

  • Some users complain about freezes

Download DivX Video Converter

Best for: Converting small files from MOV but not to MOV

OS: Web-based

Price: Free

Zamzar is a great service that can easily convert your files to a popular format. It works with batches of files, has several presets for various devices, and has a clear interface. The free version allows you to transform files up to 50 MB in size, and after conversion, files are stored for 24 hours. The storing option is available for users who are signed in. In its free edition, Zamzar doesn’t suit for converting movies, but it works well with small videos like those you would like to post to Instagram.

Key features:

  • Has online batch conversions
  • Very easy to use – just a few clicks to set up and start
  • Fast conversions
  • Transparent privacy policy

Pros:

  • Supports batch conversion
  • Simple

Cons:

  • Lacks support for some output formats

Go to Zamzar

Best for: Converting small video files online

OS: Web-based

Price: Free

This is another online service capable of converting your files to many formats. You can transform your video in just a few clicks without waiting for a long time. Owners of the service state that it is completely safe. If you’re a Chrome user, you can also install the browser extension that might be an option because the website shows ads.

Key features:

  • Drag and drop capability
  • Converts up to 10 files per day
  • Files delete in 24 hours from their servers
  • Completely free

Pros:

  • Has a browser extension
  • Great format support

Cons:

  • Has ads

Go to FileZigZag

Summary

Hopefully, this article has given you all the information you need to open, play, and convert .mov files. Before you move on, here’s a list of things to consider before choosing a MOV player or converter.

  • Easy-to-use interface: The programs above are all great for playing or converting MOV files, but everyone has different preferences and abilities. Test and choose a player or converter that suits your needs and has an interface that works well with your needs and skill level.
  • Additional formats: Although MOV files may be your primary file format, there are thousands of others out there. It’s a good idea to use programs that play and convert in a wide range of formats.
  • Solid reviews: User reviews are available all over the web. Do your due diligence before using any software and be sure that others are satisfied with it. They might point out some bugs or other issues you should be aware of before downloading.
  • Support: Having good support is key for any software – especially if you’re a beginner. Check to see that the program you want to use to play or convert .mov files offers at least email support, but live chat and online help forums are even better.

Ben Jacklin

Ben is a writer from the UK with qualifications in Media and Music Technology, he specialises in software reviews and tutorials. Ben has been blogging about media and tech subjects since he was a teenager from his base in the East of England.

Frequently asked questions

What does the MOV file format stand for?

MOV is a container format that can store video, audio, text, and virtual reality data. MOV is developed by Apple and is primarily used on devices with iOS or macOS installed. It is a lossy format: the data which is stored in the MOV container is compressed.

What is an MOV file and how do you open it?

An MOV (or QT) file stands for a multimedia container file designed by Apple. The best programs to open .mov files are probably QuickTime itself, iTunes, VLC, but there are many other players that can process MOVs.

How do I convert .mov to .mp4?

MOV and MP4 have much in common because they share some basics, but MP4 has better support. If you need to convert your MOVs to MP4s, try Movavi Video Converter and get your job done in just a few clicks. Here’s how to perform it: