Gecata by Movavi

  • 以高達 120 FPS 的速度來擷取遊戲畫面
  • 可在任何平台上串流直播
  • 錄製喇叭或麥克風的聲音
  • 在遊戲畫面中新增網路攝影機所拍攝的內容

已由 Movavi 內容團隊編輯

2020年12月28日

遊戲錄影程式,終極 11 款

一面玩遊戲一面分享,遊戲才會更好玩。無論您是狙擊手、競速破關者,還是 Minecraft 的模組愛好者,螢幕錄製軟體都能讓您輕鬆炫技。最好的遊戲錄製軟體幾乎都能做到這一點而毫不費力。

遊戲錄影軟體千百種,而且每一款都自稱是有史以來最棒的軟體,但是其中有些確實要比較優秀。最適合您的遊戲錄影工具,大大取決於您要玩的遊戲類型,以及正在使用的個人電腦。

目前最適合遊戲的螢幕錄製工具

一起來看看都是那些應用程式,敢說自己是最優秀的遊戲錄影軟體吧。

遊戲錄製工具中最優秀的 11 款

Gecata by Movavi

適用於 Windows 的最佳遊戲記錄軟體

Gecata by Movavi 是一款輕量級的直播暨遊戲畫面錄製程式,適用於 Windows,可帶來一鍵式且無延遲的流暢操作。您可以同時進行直播並錄製,也很容易疊加網路攝影機的畫面,而且,所有功能都可以透過熱鍵輕鬆控制,因此無需中斷遊戲過程。Gecata 支援多種格式,可以利用 NVIDIA 和 Intel 硬體加速的優勢,並在高達 120fps 的速度下錄製 4K 影片。由於 Gecata 可以把音訊另外儲存,因此要修正雜訊非常容易,更不會影響遊戲內的音訊。

相容性:Windows 7/8/10

價格:試用版免費,完整版 NT$599

優點

  • 4K 影片錄製
  • 多種影片格式

缺點

  • 免費版帶有浮水印

Gecata by Movavi

保留遊戲成就的最佳方法。

  • 以高達 120 FPS 的速度直播與錄製高畫質遊戲影片
  • 擷取麥克風和喇叭的聲音
  • 在遊戲過程中新增網路攝影機所拍攝的內容
  • 將影片儲存為 MP4 格式,以便輕鬆上傳到 YouTube

Bandicam

最適合初學者的遊戲擷取軟體

Bandicam 無法用來直播,但卻提供了許多有用的選項來擷取並錄製螢幕畫面,包括從智慧型手機和家用主機等外部裝置進行擷取,以及必要的網路攝影機支援功能。Bandicam 能以高達 4K UHD 的解析度運作,更能錄製高達 480fps 的影片。不僅能用來擷取全螢幕,也能只擷取特定區域。色彩嵌空表示您可以透過綠幕在遊戲中現身,十分方便。雖然該軟體無法用來直播,但就 Windows 而言,仍不失為優秀的遊戲錄影程式。

您也可以前往 Capterra.com 檢閱有關 Bandicam 的第三方評論。

在於此處檢閱該評論 (英文頁面)

相容性:Windows XP, Vista, 7/8/10

價格:試用版免費,完整版 $39

優點

  • 多種編解碼器和壓縮選項
  • 外部裝置錄音
  • 無限錄製時間 (僅限付費版)

缺點

  • 免費版具有浮水印和時間限制
  • 僅能錄製,無法直播

Screen Grabber Premium

豐富的遊戲錄影功能

Screen Grabber Premium 可錄製各種範圍,不論是全螢幕、特定區域、網路攝影機,甚至是滑鼠游標週圍的一小塊桌面區域,都難不倒它。還支援包括 MP4 在內的多種重要匯出格式,包括 MOV 與 MKV。內建的剪輯工具使您可以新增文字、線條、備註和其他螢幕上的物品。不僅是擷取遊戲畫面,這款軟體用來製作影片教學也非常有用。而且,該應用程式還可以錄製您在 PC 或 Mac 上播放任何內容的音訊。中文介面非常簡約,使用起來也夠清晰、夠直接。

Screen Grabber Premium 的訂價也是一大特點。如果您不想支付該程式的終身授權費,那就只能支付一年的使用費。

您也可以前往 MacUpdate.com 上檢閱評論。

在此處檢閱 MacUpdate 的評論 (英文頁面)

相容性:Windows 7/8/10,macOS 10.8 及更高版本

價格:免費試用;每年 $29.95 或終身授權 $42.95 起

優點

  • 支援多種格式,包括 MOV 與 MKV
  • 使用簡單
  • 可疊加網路攝影機的畫面
  • 錄音功能優秀

缺點

  • 免費試用將影片限制為 3 分鐘

Fraps

值得一試的老軟體

Fraps 問世很久的了,有多少螢幕錄影的應用程式,到了今天還相容於 Windows XP 和 Windows 2003 的?這是個經典應用程式,距離最新版本的發佈,距今也已經 7 年了。但如果您執行的是較舊的 Windows 版本,或者需要在硬體效能有限的環境中錄製螢幕,那麼這樣的經典軟體絕對是首選。免費版本的功能非常有限,而且螢幕擷取功能只能儲存 BMP,只比羊皮紙配鵝毛筆再先進一點點而已。

免費版本功能有限,但確實可以用來監控遊戲的 FPS 並執行十分有用的校能基準測試。但我們認為,對於許多人來說,這仍不算是最好的遊戲錄製軟體。

您可以在 PC World 上閱讀 Fraps 的完整評論。

請在此處閱讀 PC World 評論 (英文頁面)

相容性:Windows XP/2000 或更高版本

價格:免費版;完整版 $37

優點

  • FPS 計數器和基準測試

缺點

  • 超老舊

GoPlay

適用於 Windows 的簡易遊戲記錄軟體

GoPlay 混合了各種令人熟悉的功能,包括遊戲錄製、網路攝影機的子母畫面,以及全螢幕和部分區域的擷取。使 GoPlay 脫穎而出的是它的編輯功能。除了能用來剪輯、複製和合併影片,並且套用特效外,更具有良好的字幕功能。至於音訊方面,也提供了消噪工具,有助於清除品質較差的錄音。

GoPlay 需要訂閱才能使用,這在遊戲錄製軟體市場中也越來越普遍了。但是與許多其他軟體不同,GoPlay 的最短訂閱周期並非一年,而是一個月。目前的月費為 $4.90。這表示著您可以為特定專案使用這個完整的應用程式,而不需要承諾長期用量。

您可以前往 Techradar 閱讀 GoPlay 的評論。

請在此處閱讀評論 (英文頁面)

相容性:Windows 7/8/10

價格:試用免費;月費 $4.90;終身授權 $39.90

優點

  • 編輯功能與特效均佳
  • 支援多種格式,包括 MOV 與 MKV
  • 支援 4K/60fps

缺點

  • 無法直播

LoiLo

真正輕巧的遊戲錄製軟體

LoiLo 來自另一個既出色又穩定的影片編輯應用程式,LoiLoScope,而且是由開發人員免費提供的。用意是希望您用過 LoiLo 後也會希望用用看他們的影片編輯程式。該程式雖然不用錢,但對某些使用者而言,功能可能有點太簡單了。沒有子母畫面或精美的註釋功能,只有一個大紅色按鈕來錄製遊戲和音訊。LoiLo Game Recorder 能輕鬆錄製全高畫質的影片,但格式卻是 Motion-JPEG,而不是更常見且更通用的 MP4。如果您不想為自己的螢幕錄製軟體付費,就使用這個吧。只是它缺少多數付費產品中都可以找到的功能。

相容性:Windows 7/8

價格:免費

優點

  • 沒有時間限制
  • 幾乎沒有系統要求
  • 真的很簡單

缺點

  • 但可能太簡單了

Action! Screen Recorder

進階的螢幕錄影工具暨遊戲記錄軟體

在您所能購買的遊戲記錄程式中,Action! Screen Recorder 的功能最為豐富,除了能記錄螢幕畫面外,還能直接在 Which、YouTube、Facebook 和其他平台上進行直播,並將 HD 影片直接儲存為 MP4 格式。其具有綠幕模式,且可從您的網路攝影機或外部擷取裝置進行記錄,如果您有 AMD Eyefinity 或 NVIDIA 3D Vision 等設定,還可以將 MP4 設定為 4K、將 AVI 設定為 8K-plus。甚至可以透過 Intel 的RealSense 技術來移除影片中的背景。對於中階或較舊的電腦,這並非最適合的遊戲擷取軟體,只有更高規格的配備,才能駕馭這個強大的選擇。

相容性:Windows Vista/7/8/10

價格:30 天免費,授權費 $19.77 起

優點

  • 多種直播服務
  • HD/4K/8K,視硬體而定
  • 諸多功能

缺點

  • 試用版將影片限制為 10 分鐘
  • 需要一部樣的電腦才能確保效能良好

Gamecaster

一等一的直播擷取軟體

Gamecaster 非常適合直播直播,能為您省下最多的麻煩,並開始以 1080p 的品質在 Twitch、YouTube 或 Facebook 上進行直播。該應用程式不僅可以直播,還能支援子母畫面,讓您透過聊天和其他方式與觀眾互動。其能以 720p 或 1080p HD 進行錄製或直播,但不支援 4K。

Gamecaster 使用起來真的很簡單,有 300 多個遊戲特定的主題可以用來將外觀個人化,您也可以建立自己的主體。目前僅適用於 Windows,但 Mac 版本正在開發中。在 Windows 上,您至少需要第 4 代 Core i5/i7 和 8GB RAM 才能執行。

G2.com 上有詳細的評論。

請在此處檢閱 G2.com 的評論 (英文頁面)

相容性:Windows 7/8/10

價格:免費版本;付費版的最低價格為 $24.95

優點

  • 全年無休的技術支援
  • 串流功能一流
  • 支援色彩嵌空

缺點

  • 進階功能需訂閱才能使用
  • 比許多競爭對手貴得多

Dxtory

適用於 DirectX 和 OpenGL 的快速螢幕擷取

Dxtory 已經有好幾年沒有更新了,最後一次發佈新版,已是 2017 年的事情了。但直到第 12 版,Dxtory 都還能與 Windows 10 和 DirectX 並用。其簡約的設計和清晰的介面雖然不是很漂亮,但使用起來很簡單。除了能同時記錄多個音源,還能與大量的影片編解碼器連用。但請注意,Dxtory 並不會將影片儲存為壓縮狀態,因此時間一久,影片可能會佔用大量空間,特別是當您以最高的 120fps 速度錄製時。

相容性:Windows 7/8/10

價格:試用版免費;完整版 $35.50

優點

  • 出色的自訂選項
  • 多音源錄製
  • 快速輕巧

缺點

  • 無法直播
  • 不是最簡單的
  • 根據回報,FPS 太高時常會發生問題

NVIDIA ShadowPlay

最適合 GeForce 顯示卡的螢幕錄影程式

NVIDIA 認為,只要您有 GeForce 顯示卡,那麼選擇這個遊戲錄製程式準沒錯。這個程式經過悉心設計,就是要來與您的顯示卡並用。除了記錄遊戲直播外,它含提供了各式各樣的功能,也能在 Facebook Live、Twitch 和 Youtube 輕易開播。我們尤其喜歡「秒播秒錄」(Instant Replay and Record) 功能,確保您不再錯過意外碰上的精彩鏡頭。如果意外秀出一波美技,只要按下熱鍵,就能儲存之前 30 秒的遊戲畫面以便分享。如果硬體支援,還能以 60fps 錄製 4K HDR 或以 30fps 錄製 8K 影片。還可以建立 GIF 並以高達 8K 的解析度擷取螢幕畫面。只要有 GeForce 顯示卡,就應該優先試試這個應用程式。

PC World 針對 ShadowPlay 提供了深度評論。

請在此處閱讀評論 (英文頁面)

相容性:Windows 7/8/10

價格:免費

優點

  • 所有功能都是免費的
  • 錄製時間沒有限制
  • 沒有浮水印

缺點

  • 僅限 NVIDIA 顯示卡

OBS Studio

最好的開源螢幕擷取程式

OBS Studio 適用於 Windows PC、Mac 和 Linux,而且是個開放原始碼的軟體,由社群維護,分散完全免費;感謝 Twitch 和 Facebook 等公司的贊助。正如您所期望的那樣,OBS Studio 可以與您最喜歡的遊戲直播服務一起運作,同時更是個優秀的螢幕錄製程式。

對於初學者來說,OBS Studio 可能有點嚇人。但對於進階使用者而言,這個軟體超棒。除了能即時擷取並混合包括網路攝影機在內的多個影音來源,更具有出色的音訊混合工具;具有降噪功能、支援 VST 外掛、可高度自訂,而且還會不斷更新。它還具有多種格式,是真正能取代 NVDIA ShadowPlay 的強作。

Techradar 上也有詳細的評論。

請在此處閱讀評論 (英文頁面)

相容性:Windows /8/10、macOS 10.13 及更高版本、Linux

價格:免費

優點

  • 能與主流直播服務一起使用
  • 沒有浮水印或任何限制
  • 一流的混音和編輯

缺點

  • 起初有點嚇人

對於優秀的遊戲錄製軟體,我們能期待哪些功能呢?

好的遊戲錄製軟體應能透過與遊戲相同的速度來錄製影片,且該速度應以每秒播放格數 (FPS) 為單位。60fps 是電腦遊戲的標準設定,儘管舊遊戲或速度較慢的電腦執行起來可能較慢。超過 30fps 的速度已很不錯,低於該速度就不太好了。該程式應易於使用,且不要求多條件,就能將網路攝影機疊加在遊戲畫面上,或者將影片傳送到 YouTube 與 Twitch。多數情況下,用於記錄遊戲畫面的軟體,往往都是 Windows 的電腦程式,因為最好的遊戲往往都在那裡。

常見問題集

我們的摘要應能提供方向,幫助您找出最適合的遊戲錄影軟體,包括下列應用程式:

  • Gecata by Movavi
  • Bandicam
  • Fraps
  • GoPlay
  • LoiLo
  • Action!
  • XSplit Gamecaster
  • Dxtory
  • NVIDIA ShadowPlay
  • OBS Studio

最好的遊戲錄影軟體因人而異,也因電腦而異。如果是要在 Linux 上錄製遊戲,那就該選 OBS Studio。如果重點在於直播,那麼不支援直播的螢幕錄影工具便沒什麼幫助。

如果您有 GeForce 卡,那就看看 NVIDIA ShadowPlay 吧。它是專為 NVIDIA 技術而設計的,非常強大。至於其他顯示卡,OBS Studio 都相容得出色,但如果您不熟悉螢幕錄製軟體,則需要一點技巧才能學習。如果您只需要快速錄一錄,LoiLo 和 Fraps 都值得一試。

您可以使用遊戲錄製軟體或螢幕錄製軟體來錄製自己的遊戲。如果您自己也想在影片中亮相 (例如透過在螢幕角落的子母畫面),則您的程式就得能支援網路攝影機。這一點,大多數的軟體都做得到。

特定的程序會因應用程式而異,此為 Gecata by Movavi 的範例:

  1. 在電腦桌面上安裝遊戲記錄工具,並加以啟動。
  2. 調整錄影設定,然後按一下麥克風網路攝影機圖示,已便透過麥克風和網路攝影機來錄製您的影音。
  3. 從下拉式選單中選擇遊戲模式,以確保螢幕錄影軟體將緊跟著您的遊戲一起啟動,並在離開遊戲時自動結束。
  4. 要開始錄製,只需按一下 REC 按鈕。
 

Gecata by Movavi

保留遊戲成就的最佳方法。

  • 以高達 120 FPS 的速度直播與錄製高畫質遊戲影片
  • 擷取麥克風和喇叭的聲音
  • 在遊戲過程中新增網路攝影機所拍攝的內容
  • 將影片儲存為 MP4 格式,以便輕鬆上傳到 YouTube

December 27, 2021

The Top 11 Best Game Recording Software

15 min

10 417

  • Two-way sound capture
  • No performance loss
  • Hardware acceleration
  • Screenshots

Simple and solid game recorder and streaming program

Playing a video game is so much more fun when you can share it. Whether you’re a sniper, a speedrunner, or a Minecraft modder, screen recording software makes it easy to show off your skills. And the best game recording software does it with virtually no effort.

Program

Best for

OS

Price

Gecata by MovaviRecording games on WindowsWindows 7/8/10Free trial, full version for $30.95
BandicamBeginnersWindows XP, Vista, 7/8/10Free trial; full version for $39
Screen Grabber PremiumFeature-packed gameplay recordingWindows 7/8/10, macOS 10.8 and higherFree trial; from $29.95 a year or $42.95 for lifetime licence
FrapsOlder versions of WindowsWindows XP/2000 or laterFree version; full version for $37
GoPlayEasy screen recording on WindowsWindows 7/8/10Free trial; 1 month $4.90, lifetime licence for $39.90
LoiLoReally lightweight game captureWindows 7/8Free
Action! Screen RecorderAdvanced gameplay recordingWindows Vista/7/8/1030 days free, licences from $19.77
GamecasterLive streamingWindows 7/8/10Free version; pricing starts at $24.95
DxtoryVery fast screen capture for DirectX and OpenGLWindows 7/8/10Free trial; full version for $35.50
NVIDIA ShadowPlayGeForce graphics cardsWindows 7/8/10Free
OBS StudioMixing multiple audio and video sourcesWindows 8/10, macOS 10.13 and higher, LinuxFree

There are all kinds of game capture software out there, and of course, they all claim to be the best gaming software that’s ever been invented. But some are better than others, and the best game recorder for you will depend a lot on what games you’re going to play and what kind of PC you’re running.

The best screen recorders for gaming right now

Let’s discover the apps that claim to be the best screen recorder for games, including free game recording software.

Disclaimer: like many sites, we’ll get a small commission if you click through and buy one of our recommendations. That doesn’t influence our recommendations: we want you to find the best screen recording software no matter who makes it.

The top 11 best screen recorders for games

Best for: Recording games on Windows

Compatibility: Windows 7/8/10

Price: Free trial, full version for $30.95

Gecata by Movavi is a lightweight streaming and game recording program for Windows PCs that promises one-click, lag-free operation. You can stream and record at the same time, it’s easy to overlay your webcam and everything is easy to control with hotkeys so you don’t need to interrupt the gameplay. Gecata supports multiple formats, can take advantage of NVIDIA and Intel hardware acceleration and can record 4K video at up to 120fps, and because it saves your audio streams separately, it’s really easy to edit out any bloopers without affecting the in-game audio.

Pros

  • 4K video recording
  • Multiple video formats

Cons

  • Free version watermarks recordings

Best for: Beginners

Compatibility: Windows XP, Vista, 7/8/10

Price: Free trial; full version for $39

Capterra rating: 4.3 out of 5, 46 reviews

Bandicam doesn’t stream but it offers lots of options for screen capture and recording, including the ability to capture from external devices such as smartphones and games consoles and the obligatory webcam support. It runs at up to 4K UHD resolution and can capture up to 480fps, and you can use it to capture not just the full screen but specific areas too. Chromakey support means you can make yourself appear in the in-game action if you’ve got a green screen handy. If you want to livestream, this isn’t for you, but it’s an excellent program for recording games on Windows.

Pros

  • Multiple codecs and compression options
  • External device recording
  • Unlimited recording time (paid version only)

Cons

  • Free version adds watermarks and time limits
  • Recording only, not streaming

Best for: Feature-packed gameplay recording

Compatibility: Windows 7/8/10, macOS 10.8 and higher

Price: Free trial; from $29.95 a year or $42.95 for lifetime licence

MacUpdate rating: 4 out of 5, 4 reviews

Screen Grabber Premium enables you to record full screen, a selected area, just your webcam, or even just a small area around your mouse, and it outputs in all the key formats, including MP4. The built-in editor enables you to add text, lines, call-outs, and other on-screen items, which is useful if you want to create a tutorial rather than just capture your gameplay, and the app can also record audio from anything that’s playing on your PC or Mac. The interface is pretty minimalist but it’s clear enough and straightforward to use.

One thing that’s different about Screen Grabber Premium is the pricing: if you don’t shell out for the lifetime licence, your money only pays for a year of using the app.

Pros

  • Multiple format support
  • Easy to use
  • Webcam overlay
  • Good audio recording

Cons

  • Free trial limits video to 3 minutes

Best for: Older versions of Windows

Compatibility: Windows XP/2000 or later

Price: Free version; full version for $37

PCWorld rating: 3 out of 5

You can tell Fraps has been around for a while: how many screen recorder apps still list Windows XP and 2003 in their compatibility list? This is an old app – the most recent release came out seven years ago – but its age is actually a bonus if you’re running older versions of Windows or need a screen recording app with very modest hardware requirements. The free version is very limited, though, and the screenshot feature saves to BMP which means it’s only slightly more modern than having someone draw it on parchment with a quill.

One thing that’s different about Screen Grabber Premium is the pricing: if you don’t shell out for the lifetime licence, your money only pays for a year of using the app.

The free version is very limited but does enable you to monitor your game’s FPS rate and run performance benchmarking, which it’s very good for. However, we don’t think this is going to be the best game capture software for many people.

Pros

  • FPS counter and benchmarking

Cons

  • Very old

#CommissionsEarned

Best for: Easy screen recording on Windows

Compatibility: Windows 7/8/10

Price: Free trial; 1 month $4.90, lifetime licence for $39.90

TechRadar rating: 2.5 out of 5

GoPlay offers a familiar mix of gameplay recording, picture in picture for your webcam, and the ability to capture some or all of your screen. One of the things that makes GoPlay stand out here is its editing features, which enable you to trim, copy and merge videos as well as apply special effects. There are good subtitling features too, and for audio the noise removal tools can help clean up poor quality recordings.

GoPlay is subscription-based, which is increasingly common in the game capture software market, but unlike many others, its shortest subscription isn’t a year: it’s a month, which currently costs £4.79. That means you can get the whole app for a single project without committing to an ongoing subscription plan.

Pros

  • Good editing and effects
  • Multiple format support
  • 4K/60fps support

Cons

  • No streaming

Best for: Really lightweight game capture

Compatibility: Windows 7/8

Price: Free

LoiLo comes from the same stable as the excellent LoiLoScope video editing app, and the developers are providing it for free in the hope that you’ll love it so much you’ll want to get the editing programme too. You can’t complain about the price tag, but the app may be a little too simple for some: there’s no picture-in-picture or fancy annotation features, just a big red button to record gameplay and audio. LoiLo Game Recorder will happily create Full HD recordings but the format is Motion-JPEG rather than the more common and more efficient MP4. If you don’t want to pay for your screen recording software, then this will do the job, but it lacks the features you’ll find in most paid-for products.

Pros

  • No time limits
  • Tiny system requirements
  • Really simple

Cons

  • May be too simple for you

#CommissionsEarned

Best for: Advanced gameplay recording

Compatibility: Windows Vista/7/8/10

Price: 30 days free, licences from $19.77

Action! Screen Recorder is one of the most versatile game recording programs you can buy. It offers screen recording and life streaming to Which, YouTube, Facebook, and other platforms, it records HD directly to MP4 format, it has a green screen mode, and it can record from your webcam or external capture devices and it can record at up to 4K for MP4 and 8K-plus for AVI if you have an AMD Eyefinity or NVIDIA 3D Vision setup. It can even remove the background of clips via Intel’s RealSense technology. It’s not the best game capture software for modest or older PCs but it’s good for higher-spec setups.

Pros

  • Multiple streaming services
  • HD / 4K / 8K depending on hardware
  • Lots of features

Cons

  • Trial limits you to 10 minutes
  • Needs a decent PC to perform well

Best for: Live streaming

Compatibility: Windows 7/8/10

Price: Free version; pricing starts at $24.95

G2 rating: 3.8 out of 5, 16 reviews

Gamecaster is brilliant for live streamers: it enables you to start streaming to Twitch, YouTube, or Facebook in 1080p quality with the minimum of fuss. The app doesn’t just stream and support picture-in-picture, too: it also enables you to engage with your audience via chats and other interactions. It can record and stream at 720p or 1080p HD but not 4K.

Gamecaster is really easy to use, and you can personalise its appearance with over 300 game-specific themes. You can also create your own. It’s only currently available for Windows but a Mac version is in development. On Windows, you’ll need at least a 4th Generation Core i5/i7 and 8 GB of RAM.

Pros

  • 24/7 support
  • Superb for streaming
  • Chroma key support

Cons

  • Advanced features require a subscription
  • A lot more expensive than many rivals

Best for: Very fast screen capture for DirectX and OpenGL

Compatibility: Windows 7/8/10

Price: Free trial; full version for $35.50

It hasn’t been updated for a couple of years – the most recent version was launched in 2017 – but Dxtory works with Windows 10 and DirectX up to version 12. Its minimalist design and clear interface aren’t exactly pretty but it’s straightforward to use, records from multiple audio sources simultaneously and works with a ton of video codecs. Just be aware that Dxtory saves your video uncompressed so long sessions can be space hogs, especially if you’re recording at the maximum 120fps.

Pros

  • Great customisation options
  • Multiple audio stream recording
  • Fast and lightweight

Cons

  • No streaming
  • Not the simplest
  • Some reported issues at high FPS rates

Best for: GeForce graphics cards

Compatibility: Windows 7/8/10

Price: Free

PCWorld rating: 3.5 out of 5

If you have a GeForce card, NVIDIA reckons this is the game recording program for you. It’s designed specifically to work with your graphics card, and it delivers a Swiss Army knife of recording and game streaming features, including easy broadcasting to Facebook Live, Twitch, and Youtube. We particularly like Instant Replay and Record, which enables you to capture things you weren’t expecting to capture: if you’ve just done something spectacular you can hit the hotkey to save the last 30 seconds of gameplay, ready for sharing. If your hardware supports it, you can record 4K HDR at 60fps or 8K at 30fps. You can also create GIFs and take screenshots at resolutions of up to 8K. If you have a GeForce this should be the app you try first.

Pros

  • All the features are free
  • No time limit for recording
  • No watermarks

Cons

  • NVIDIA cards only

Best for: Mixing multiple audio and video sources

Compatibility: Windows 8/10, macOS 10.13 and higher, Linux

Price: Free

TechRadar rating: 4 out of 5

OBS Studio is available for Windows PCs, Mac and Linux. It’s open-source, which means it’s maintained by a community and distributed completely free; you can thank companies including Twitch and Facebook for sponsoring it. As you’d expect from those sponsors, OBS Studio works with your favourite game streaming service as well as being a good screen recording program.

OBS Studio may be a bit scary for beginners but for power users it’s brilliant. It offers real time capture and mixing of multiple audio and video sources, including webcams, it has a nice audio mixer with noise suppression and VST plugin support, it’s very customisable and it’s constantly being updated. It works with multiple formats and it’s a really interesting alternative to NVDIA’s ShadowPlay.

You can see a comparison of OBS and ShadowPlay here

Pros

  • Works with key streaming services
  • No watermarks or limits
  • Superb mixing and editing

Cons

  • A little scary at first

What features should you expect from good gaming software?

Good game recording software is able to record video at the same speed as your gameplay, and that speed is measured in frames per second (FPS). 60fps is the standard for PC gaming, although older titles or slower PCs may run more slowly. Speeds beyond 30fps are good but it’s not good to go below that. The program should be straightforward to use and shouldn’t require lots of messing around to do things like overlay your webcam over the gameplay or send video to YouTube or Twitch. And in the majority of cases, the best screen recorder for games is going to be a Windows PC program because that’s where the best games are.

Was the article helpful?

Carrie Marshall

Carrie Marshall is a writer, broadcaster, podcaster, and musician from Glasgow in Scotland. She has been writing and talking about PCs, Macs, and mobile for magazines, websites, and radio stations for 22 years, and she is the author of more than a dozen books on subjects ranging from PC building to internet safety. She’s a regular contributor to TechRadar, T3, MacFormat, and BBC Radio Scotland.

Gecata by Movavi

Simple and solid game recorder and streaming program

Frequently asked questions

What is the best video game recording software?

We think you’ll find the best video game recording software in our round-up, which includes these apps:

  • Gecata by Movavi
  • Bandicam
  • Screen Grabber Premium
  • Fraps
  • GoPlay
  • LoiLo
  • Action!

The best game capture software will differ from person to person and computer to computer, so for example, if you want to record your gameplay on Linux, then your choice basically comes down to OBS Studio; if you want to livestream, then a screen recorder that doesn’t support streaming isn’t going to be very helpful.

What is the best free recording software for gaming?

If you have a GeForce card, you should look at NVIDIA ShadowPlay: it’s designed specifically for NVIDIA’s technology and it’s really good. For any video card, OBS Studio is brilliant but there is a little bit of a learning curve if you’re new to screen recording software. If you just need something quick for recording, LoiLo and Fraps are both worth a look.

How do you record yourself gaming?

Game recording software or screen recording software enables you to record yourself gaming. If you want to include yourself in the video – for example, by having a little Picture-In-Picture window in the corner of the screen – you’ll also need a program that supports your webcam. Most do.

The specific process is different from app to app, but here’s an example from Gecata by Movavi:

  1. Install the game recorder on your PC and launch it.
  2. Adjust the recording settings and click on the Microphone and Webcam icons to record sound and video from your mic and webcam as well as from your came.
  3. Choose the Game mode from the drop-down menu. This ensures that your screen recorder software will start as soon as you launch the game and end automatically when you exit the game.
  4. To start recording, just click on the REC button.
  5. That’s it!