【OBS 教學】有史以來最優秀的 OBS 設定,駕馭綠影與直播

在本文中,您將瞭解到:


  • 最適合 OBS 的基本設定和進階設定

  • 如何設定 OBS 並將其最佳化


這篇文章大約只需要花 12 分鐘即可讀完,另外再花差不多相同的時間,即可將您所有的設定管理到位。不可思議!對吧!有了 Movavi Screen Recorder 的 AI 影片增強功能,您就是能省下大把時間。

如果您想把螢幕畫面錄製成專業的影片,那麼 OBS Studio 正是您最堅實的平台。只不過,它在設定時顯得有點棘手。對於那些為了設定而倍感頭疼的人們,我們在這裡提供了 OBS 的最佳錄影設定清單。

參數

推薦設定

基礎 (畫布) 解析度

可調整要擷取的影片的尺寸。例如,您可以使用 1920 × 1080 來配合螢幕的大小,再以 1080p 進行「全螢幕」擷取。

輸出 (成比例) 解析度

可調整為適合輸出的檔案格式,或者偏好平台所推薦的播放與串流格式。

常見的 FPS (每秒鐘影格數)

60 FPS

檢視所有程式

如何進行 OBS 設定,以便取得最優質的螢幕錄影

OBS 全名為 Open Broadcaster Software,它具有先進的擷取和串流功能,但要確保輸出流暢,您必須知道怎麼將 OBS 設定好來進行錄製。

平衡您的設定

為了將 OBS 的錄音設定最佳化,您需要預先配置適用於每次錄音的設定。這些基本設定可以幫助您以更好的整體品質來進行錄製,建議您以此做為預設值。

要進行設定,請先按一下檔案 > 設定,即可進入設定選單。隨即會出現一個視窗,視窗中列出了各種選項,可以用來變更各種類別的設定,例如輸出音訊視訊

我們將利用這些類別來:

  • 設定您的影片擷取參數

  • 設定您的影片錄製參數

  • 為您的螢幕錄影設定串流參數

自動化配置工具

首次開啟 OBS Studio 時,自動配置工具將會出現,您可以從這裡調整各項設定,以便配合您的電腦規格。但如果您需要如以下各節所示地進一步調整設定,就需要回到設定選單。

請遵循各類別的指示來將 OBS 的錄音設定最佳化,以便因應各種情況。

設定影片的擷取參數

您可以按一下設定選單中的影片類別來改善影片品質。在這裡,您可以找到一些選項,讓您可以在平台內擷取到最流暢的影片。調整以下設定以便擁有最優異的擷取錄製效能。

  1. 基礎 (畫布) 解析度

    這項解析度由寬度 × 高度來表示,代表了擷取區域的大小。這項設定最好與您顯示器上的設定相相符,但您也可以建立自訂的擷取視窗。1920 × 1080 是標準 1080p HD 的錄製環境。

  2. 輸出 (成比例) 解析度

    輸出 (成比例) 的解析度未必要與擷取 (畫布) 的解析度相符,但為了提升的影片品質,最好還是讓兩者一致。為了在特定的平台上獲得最好的播放效果,檢查您的解析度設定是否與平台相容,若否,請前去調整,令其以符合平台的上傳標準。

  3. 常見的 FPS (每秒鐘影格數)

    FPS,也就是所謂的框率,決定您的影片每秒將錄製多少個畫面。這會影響到影片的品質,因為每秒的畫面越多,呈現出來的效果也就越平滑。根據您的儲存容量,最高設定可能是 30 FPS 或 60 FPS。

    60 FPS 的錄製位元速率更高,佔用的儲存空間也比較多。若想讓確保觀眾在欣賞遊戲影片和其他高品質內容時不會體驗到延遲,那麼 60 FPS 就是最好的選擇。

  4. 降級濾鏡

    當用來輸出的解析度比錄製的更低時,影片就必須降級才能因應新的輸出條件。這就是本濾鏡的任務了。Lanczos 提供了最高品質的降級功能,但並非每台電腦都能夠處理這個濾鏡。因此,我們建議您一律使用 Bicubic,除非您的系統跑得動 Lanczos。

設定您的影片錄製參數

按一下設定選單裡的輸出,從這裡,您可以選擇透過簡單進階來變更各式各樣的輸出設定。

這一部分沒有實際的參數,因為每個人的錄製需求和系統需求都不一樣。但我們將在之後的章節中探討這些設定。

現在請先按一下錄製格式旁的下拉式選單並選取 MP4。這是目前最常用的影片格式。

為您的螢幕錄影設定串流參數

串流又是另一個領域,可以根據您的需求而產生很多設定,請見下文。不過,若您是以 60 FPS 的 1080p 全高畫質來進行串流的話,那麼這裡有三個設定,您可以當作多數串流的預設值來使用。

若要這麼做,請按一下設定視窗之下的輸出,接著選取從輸出模式旁的選單中選取進階,再按一下串流索引標籤並使用以下設定:

  1. 位元速率設為 4,000。

  2. 將 CPU 使用率設定為非常快

  3. 選用 X264 來當作您的編碼器。

最適合用於錄製的 OBS 設定

前文提供了一個預設的設定清單,可在大多數的錄製或串流情況下使用。現在我們將進一步探索各項設定類別,這樣您就能知道如何根據自己的專案來使用最佳的 OBS 設定進行錄製。

一般設定

位於設定視窗內的一般索引標籤含括了一些設定,主要關乎您的平台體驗。選單中沒有任何東西會影響您的音影品質。您可以探索這些設定,看看哪些可能有助於您創作影片。

輸出設定

我們稍早曾大略看過這個選單,現在就來深入研究一下。這個選單允許您為影片和串流自訂編碼與格式設定。若要這麼做,請按一下輸出模式下拉式清單之下的進階並使用如下的 OBS 高品質錄製設定:

編碼器

要製作影片,就需要透程式將影片中的資訊編碼為特定的格式。而您的顯卡則決定了您的系統對該資訊進行編碼的速度。

有很多關於「如何將 OBS 的錄製程序最佳化」的文章都推薦您使用 NVENC H.264 設定。他們說得對,因為這種設定可以製作出最高品質的影片和串流。

但系統必須先安裝 NVIDIA 的顯示卡,才能使用這種設定。因為不是每個人都有這樣的顯卡,因此我們推薦您改以 x264 作為預設的編碼器。

如果您有 NVIDIA 的顯示卡,那麼當然能採用 NVENC H.264 的設定。這在錄製或直播遊戲時,肯定會讓您看見差異。

速率控制

透過速率控制設定,系統能知道您想如何指派要使用的位元速率。CBR 可以提供一致的、高品質的影片片段,不會為主機板帶來壓力,並讓您能完全控制位元速率。

然而,如果您已安裝 NVIDIA 顯示卡,那麼 CQP 肯定是品質最高的設定。但請知悉,這種設定會輸出巨大的影片檔案,主要是由那些錄製 4K 影片的人使用。

位元速率

您隨時可以自訂位元速率,來配合自己想輸出的影片品質。只要記得,位元速率一旦提高,檔案大小就會跟著增加。如果儲存空間足夠,您便可以設定較高的位元速率,例如以 16,000 來錄製全高畫質的影片,成果就會非常清晰。

但如果您只是要錄製教學影片或會議紀錄,且可能只會在 720p 的條件下播放,那麼不妨把位元速率降到 3500 即可。

影片設定

基礎 (畫布) 解析度輸出 (成比例) 解析度都取決於您的輸出需求。您總是可以設定成與顯示器一樣的尺寸以便錄製全螢幕,但並非必須這麼做。只不過,這是確保影片擁有最高輸出品質的做法。另請記得將位元速率設定為 30FPS 或 60FPS。

音訊設定

音訊底下,多數的預設設定對任何標準影片來說都很適用。您只要記得去設定平台,讓它從正確的來源獲取您的音訊即可。

如果您正在使用電腦的內部音訊輸出,則請選取桌面音訊旁的預設。而如果使用的是外部的麥克風,那就從四個麥克風/輔助音訊選項中選擇您的麥克風。

使用 OBS 的進階設定

最後的兩個設定類別是熱鍵進階。熱鍵並不會影響影片輸出,所以我們直接研究進階吧。在這裡,您可以結合以下設定來取得高品質的影片:

  • 將處理優先順序設定為高於標準

  • 將演色器設定為 Direct3D 11。

  • 將色彩設定設為 NV12、709 以及全。

如何將 OBS 的錄製效果最佳化

如何設定 OBS 以便進行遊戲錄製

要錄製遊戲過程,請按一下來源下方的 + 號並從選單中選取遊戲擷取。從這裡,您可以選擇要錄製整個螢幕或特定的視窗。

若要擷取視窗,務必確定您的基礎 (畫布) 解析度與遊戲視窗中的解析度一致。如果您要一面使用外部麥克風進行解說,也請記得調整音訊設定。

非高規格電腦應如何設定 OBS

前文中有許多設定是專為高效能的現代電腦而設計的,如果您使用的電腦規格並不是那麼高級,那您就要根據自己的系統規格來設定細節,才能盡可能製作出流暢的影片。

為此,您最好根據解析度來進行調整。請前往設定選單然後按一下影片。接著將解析度持續下修,直到拍攝出順暢的成果為止。雖然影片的品質會降低,但至少也減緩了延遲的機率,創造出流暢的觀看體驗。

如何為線上會議和講座設定 OBS

要錄製講座和會議,最好從來源選單中選擇顯示擷取。再提醒一次,要記得調整基礎 (畫布) 解析度,使其與顯示畫面維持一致。

如果您是在錄製自己的講座,那麼就透過麥克風來提升收音品質吧。記得先把音訊中的細節設定好就行了。

如何妥善設定,並進行 OBS 直播

前面幾節的設定都將適用於大多數的直播畫面。只要多留意自己的位元速率和 FPS,就能將效果最佳化了。這就是網路速度發揮作用的地方了。網路連線越快,就負荷得了更高的位元速率,直播品質也就越高。

這裡有個簡短的指南,可以用來設定串流媒體的位元速率和 FPS:

  • 720p 每秒 30 格的影片 – 1,500 至 4,000 kbps

  • 720p 每秒 60 格的影片 – 2,500 至 5,000 kbps

  • 1080p 每秒 30 格的影片 – 3,000 至 6,000 kbps

  • 1080p 每秒 60 格的影片 – 4,500 至 9,000 kbps

OBS 的最佳替代方案

不喜歡 OBS 嗎?下文我們分析了某些優秀的替代方案。

最適合:錄製講座和一般線上內容

作業系統:Windows 和 macOS

價格:免費試用、年費 $42.95,另有永久授權 $57.95

有了 Movavi Screen Recorder 平台,使用者就能簡單方便地錄製他們的螢幕。該程式很適合用來記錄如聊天室、線上教學、活動、講座、會議,甚至是 Twitch、YouTube 和 Steamlabs 等內容。設定快速又簡單,而且該程式還有很多強大的功能,有助於您錄製影片後加以編輯。

主要功能:

  • 顯示擊鍵

  • 擷取您的螢幕和網路攝影機

  • 僅能錄製音訊

優點:

  • 介面易於使用

  • 運作速度快、銜接無縫

  • 大量的互動式控制項

缺點:

  • 有免費版本,但必須付費才能使用所有功能

最適合:電子遊戲的錄製和直播

作業系統:Windows

價格:免費試用、永久授權 $35.95

Gecata 是 Movavi 特地為專業玩家設計的錄製暨直播方案。該平台對使用者很友善,經過最佳化後,還能為觀眾提供更高品質的影片。

您可以同時錄製影像和聲音,遊戲中的音效和外部麥克風都能使用。該程式還可以在您的影片中新增並錄製網路攝影機的畫面,好讓您一面解說一面對遊戲的動態做出反應。

主要功能:

  • 雙向聲音擷取

  • 完整的擷取控制項

  • 4K 影片錄製

優點:

  • 效能無損

  • 提供硬體加速

  • 影音皆可錄製

缺點:

  • 不適用於 Mac 電腦

  • 免費版有浮水印

Windows 10 Game Bar

最適合:快速方案

作業系統:Windows

價格:免費

任何 Win10 的電腦一定都內建了 Windows 10 Game Bar。這款程式的功能有點不可靠,但 Microsoft 這些年來還是進行了一些升級。如果您亟需一個快速的影片錄製或實況設定,這會是個選項,但還有其他更好的選擇。

主要功能:

  • 系統效能監控

  • 可以播放 Spotify 的音樂

  • 遊戲或任何應用程式都適用

優點:

  • 一有效就非常有效!

  • 已內建於 Windows 10 中文版裡

缺點:

  • 效能不穩定

  • Game Bar 並不總是會在您需要的時候出現

摘要

要將 OBS 設定好,並用來錄製直播、遊戲和視訊會議等等,其實很直接。我們在這篇 OBS 教學中討論到的技巧和訣竅,應該足以讓您好好錄製螢幕畫面和/或網路攝影機的活動,並且製作出高品質的影片才對。如果您正在尋找一個能幫助您製作出高品質影片的優秀替代方案來取代 OBS Studio 的話,我們建議您嘗試 Movavi Screen Recorder 或 Gecata by Movavi。

常見問題集

OBS 的最佳錄製設定是什麼?

對於許多使用者來說,OBS 的最佳錄製設定如下:

  • 影片檔案格式:MP4

  • 音軌數:1

  • 編碼器:x264

  • 位元速率:40,000 (或者 15,000-25,000 若您使用的電腦規格較低)

如何設定 OBS 以便進行錄製?

首次開啟 OBS Studio 時,系統應該會提示您進行自動化配置。如果自動化配置精靈並未出現,則您也可以在畫面頂端的工具選單中找到它。執行此工具即可讓 OBS 自動檢查您的系統需求並嘗試找出最適合您電腦的設定。而這應該會包含您的錄音設定、解析度、編碼器、位元速率和其他細項。

自動配置完成後,就要檢查 OBS 是否也為您偏好的音訊裝置進行了設定。要進行這項檢查,請先按一下設定,再按一下音訊,看看 OBS 是否選擇了正確的音訊裝置,若否,則請您修正這項設定。

緊接著需要新增您的視訊來源。在畫面底部找到來源方塊,並且按一下 + 號,這將為您提供好幾個選項,包括遊戲擷取視窗影片擷取裝置 (用於擷取網路攝影機的影像)。選擇適當的視訊來源後,您就可以開始錄製了。

如何設定 OBS 以便錄製遊戲?

要使用 OBS 來錄製遊戲過程,請先前往設定 > 音訊確定您的音訊輸出已正確設定為您的內部電腦音效,如果您也有使用外部麥克風的話,也需要調整為相應的設定。然後,請找到位於畫面底部的來源方塊,按一下 + 號並選取遊戲擷取。這將確保您錄製到的是遊戲視窗,而不是其他的影像來源。

為何我用 OBS 軟體錄製時會延遲?

如果您正在擷取的影片並未卡頓,但您的 OBS 卻發生延遲,那麼您可能需要降低位元速率和/或調低遊戲的解析度設定。如果問題仍然存在,且您很確定正在延遲的並不是自己的電腦,那建議您下載其他的影片擷取軟體試試,例如 Movavi Screen Recorder。

有問題嗎?

若找不到問題的答案,請隨時與支援團隊聯繫。

註冊即可訂閱新聞並享有特惠

Best OBS Recording Settings in 2022

Ben Jacklin Edited by Ben Jacklin

In this article, you’ll learn:

  • The best basic and advanced settings for OBS

  • How to set up and optimize OBS

It’ll take you about 12 minutes to read this article, and nearly the same time to manage all your settings. No way! Save your time with Movavi Screen Recorder’s AI video enhancement.

If you want to record professional-grade videos from your screen, then OBS Studio is a solid platform. But the program is a little tricky when setting up. For those struggling with their configuration, here is our list of the best OBS recording settings.

Parameter

Recommended setting

Base (canvas) resolution

Adjust to the size of the video you want to capture – e.g. 1920 × 1080 to match the size of your monitor for ‘full screen’ capture at 1080p.

Output (scaled) resolution

Adjust to fit your output file format or the recommended playback or streaming format for your preferred platform.

Common FPS (frames-per-second)

60 FPS

Show more

How to get best-quality screen recording videos in OBS Studio

OBS – Open Broadcaster Software – has advanced features for both capture and streaming. But to get a smooth output, you must know how to set up OBS for recording.

Balance your settings

To optimize for the best recording settings for OBS, you’ll need to pre-configure specific settings that apply to every recording. These base settings help you capture with better quality overall and should remain as a default.

To configure these settings, access the Settings menu by clicking File > Settings. A window will appear that lists options to change settings in a variety of categories like Output, Audio, and Video.

We’ll use these categories to:

  • Set your video capture parameters

  • Set your video recording parameters

  • Set streaming parameters for your screen recording

Auto-configuration tool

An auto-configuration tool will pop up when you first open the OBS screen recorder. From here, you can adjust the settings to match the specs on your computer. But if you need to further adjust your settings – as shown in the sections below – you’ll return to the Settings menu.

Follow the instructions in each category to optimize for the best OBS recording settings in any situation.

Set video capture parameters

You can improve the quality of your videos by clicking the Video category from the Settings menu. Here, you’ll find options that allow you to capture the smoothest videos possible within the platform. Adjust the following settings for optimal capture recording performance.

1. The base (canvas) resolution

Represented by width × height, this resolution represents the dimensions of your capture area. It’s best to match it to the settings on your monitor, but you can also create a custom capture window. 1920 × 1080 is standard 1080p HD recording.

2. Output (scaled) resolution

The resolution for your output (Scaled) doesn’t have to match the resolution for your capture (Canvas). But to create better quality videos, it's best to do so. For optimal playback on a specific platform, make sure your resolution settings are compatible. If not, you’ll want to adjust your settings to match the platform's upload standards.

3. Common FPS (frames-per-second)

FPS – also known as frame rate – determines how many frames per second your video will record. This affects the quality of your video, as more frames give you a smoother picture. 30 FPS or 60 FPS are the top settings based on your storage capacity.

60 FPS has a higher recording bitrate and takes up more storage. But if you want your viewers to experience no lag while watching gameplay videos and other high-quality content, this is the best option.

4. Downscale filter

When your resolution output is smaller than your recording, the video must downscale to match the size. That’s the task for this filter. Lanczos provides the highest quality downscaling, but not every computer can handle this filter. Therefore, we recommend sticking to Bicubic, unless your system can handle Lanczos.

Set your video recording parameters

Click Output from the Settings menu. From here, you can choose either Simple or Advanced to change a wide variety of output settings.

There are no actual parameters for this section, as everyone has different recording needs and systems. But we’ll explore those settings in the sections below.

For now, click the dropdown menu next to Recording format and select MP4. It’s the most commonly used video format to date.

Set streaming parameters for your screen recording

Streaming is another area that can have a lot of settings based on your needs – see below. But here are three settings you can use as defaults for most streams, assuming you’re streaming in 1080p full HD at 60 FPS.

To access, click Output under the Settings window. Then select Advanced from the menu next to Output Mode. Click the Streaming tab and use these settings:

  1. Set the Bitrate to 4,000.

  2. Set the CPU usage to veryfast.

  3. Select X264 as your encoder.

The best OBS settings for recording

The section above provides a default list of settings you can use in most recording or streaming situations. Now we’ll explore each Settings category, so you’ll know how to use the best OBS settings for recording based on your project.

General settings

The General tab within the Settings window has settings that affect your experience of the platform. There’s nothing on the menu that affects the quality of your audio or video. Explore these settings and see what might be helpful in your video creation process.

Output settings

We saw this menu earlier, but let’s take a closer look. This menu allows you to customize the encoding and format settings for your videos and streams. To start, click Advanced under the Output Mode dropdown menu and use these OBS high-quality recording settings:

Encoder

To create a video, you need the program to encode the information in the video into a specific format. And your graphics card determines how fast your system can encode that information.

Many articles on ‘How to optimize OBS for recording’ state that you should use the NVENC H.264 setting. And they’re right because this setting creates the highest quality videos and streams.

But this setting requires an NVIDIA graphics card you may not have installed in your system. That’s why we recommend the x264 as the default recorder.

If you have an NVIDIA graphics card, use the NVENC H.264 setting, and you’ll definitely see a difference when recording or streaming games.

Rate Control

The rate control setting tells your system how you want to allocate the bitrate you’re using. CBR puts out consistent, quality video clips, doesn’t stress your motherboard, and gives you complete bitrate control.

However, if you have an NVIDIA graphics card installed, then CQP is the setting with the highest quality. Just know that this setting puts out large video files, and is mainly used by those recording videos in 4k.

Bitrate

You can always set custom bitrates to match the quality of the video you want to put out. Just remember that when you increase the bitrate, you increase the size of the file. If you have the storage space, you can set a high bitrate like 16,000 for full HD recordings to get a crisp video.

But if you’re recording videos for tutorials or conferences, and potentially only playing back in 720p, you can lower things down to 3,500.

Video settings

Both Base (Canvas) Resolution and Output (Scaled) Resolution depend upon your output needs. You can always match the settings to the size of your monitor to get the full screen, but you don’t have to. However, this is best practice to get the highest quality video output. Remember to set your bitrate to either 30 or 60 FPS.

Audio settings

Under Audio, most of the default settings are fine for any standard video. Just be sure that you set the platform to get your audio from the correct source.

If you’re using your computer's internal audio output, then select Default next to Desktop Audio. And if you’re using an external mic, then select your mic from any of the four Mic/Auxiliary Audio options.

Using advanced settings for OBS

The last two settings categories are Hotkeys and Advanced. Hotkeys doesn’t really affect your video output, so let’s look at Advanced. Here, you’ll want to incorporate the following settings for high-quality videos:

  • Set your processing priority to Above Normal.

  • Set the renderer to Direct3D 11.

  • Set your color settings to NV12, 709, and full.

How to optimize OBS for recording

How to set up OBS for game recording

To record gameplay, you’ll click the + sign under Sources and select Game Capture from the menu. From here, you can choose whether you want to record your full screen or a specific window.

If capturing a window, be sure that your Base (Canvas) Resolution matches the resolution in the game’s window. And be sure to visit your Audio settings if you’re using an external mic for narration.

How to set up OBS for low-end or bad computers

Many of the settings above are for modern, higher-powered computers. If you’re working with a low-end computer, then you’ll want to set things up based on the specs of your system to create the smoothest possible video.

The best way to adjust for this is through the resolution. Go to your Settings menu and then click Video. Then, drop your resolution settings until things smooth out. Your video quality will be lower, but at least you’ll lower the chance of lag and create a fluid viewing experience.

How to set up OBS for online conferences and lectures

For lectures and conferences, it’s better to choose Display Capture from the Sources menu. Again, you’ll want to adjust the Base (Canvas) Resolution to match your display.

If you’re recording your own lecture, then use a mic for the best sound. Just be sure to set things up in the Audio settings first.

How to set up OBS for streaming

For streaming, the settings in the previous sections will work for most scenarios. To optimize your streaming, you’ll want to focus on your bitrate and FPS. This is where your internet speed comes into play. You’ll need a faster internet connection to put out higher-quality streams with higher bitrates.

Here’s a short guide you can use to set up bitrate and FPS for streaming:

  • 720p video at 30 frames per second – 1,500 to 4,000 kbps

  • 720p video at 60 frames per second – 2,500 to 5,000 kbps

  • 1080p video at 30 frames per second – 3,000 to 6,000 kbps

  • 1080p video at 60 frames per second – 4,500 to 9,000 kbps

Top alternatives to OBS

At Movavi, we’re committed to providing you with verified information only. Here’s what we do to ensure this:

  • When selecting products to include in our reviews, we research both demand and popularity.

  • All products mentioned in this article have been tested by Movavi Content Team.

  • When testing, we aim to highlight the best features of a product and what it’s best suited for.

  • We study user reviews from popular review platforms and make use of this information when writing our product reviews.

  • We collect feedback from our users and analyze their opinions of Movavi software as well as products from other companies.

Not a fan of OBS? Below are our breakdowns of some top alternatives.

Best for: Recording lectures and general online content

OS: Windows and macOS

Price: Free trial, $42.95/year, and $57.95/lifetime

G2 rating: 4.5 out of 5, 50 reviews

With Movavi Screen Recorder, users have an easy, convenient platform for recording their screen. Use the program to record things like online tutorials, events, lectures, and conferences. Set up is quick and easy, and the program has a lot of superb features to help you edit videos after you capture.

Key features

  • Show your keystrokes

  • Capture your screen and webcam

  • Record only audio

Pros

  • Easy-to-use interface

  • Works fast and seamlessly

  • Lots of interactive controls

Cons

  • Offers free version, but you have to pay to use all features

Best for: Video game recording and streaming

OS: Windows

Price: Free trial, $35.95/lifetime

Steam rating: 6 out of 10, 43 reviews

Gecata by Movavi is the company’s recording and streaming solution for serious gamers. The platform is user-friendly and allows users to optimize high-quality videos for their viewers.

You can record both video and audio, in-game or through an external mic. The program can also add webcam recordings into your video to show narration and your reactions to what’s happening.

Key features

  • Two-way sound capture

  • Full capture controls

  • 4K video recording

Pros

  • No performance loss

  • Offers hardware acceleration

  • Video and audio recording

Cons

  • Not available for Mac

  • Watermarks on the free version

Windows 10 Game Bar

Best for: Quick solution

OS: Windows

Price: Free

PCMag rating: 3.5 out of 5

The Windows 10 Game Bar is already built into any PC with Windows 10 installed. The program is fickle with its functionality, but Microsoft has given it some upgrades over the years. It’s a solid tool if you need a quick solution for video recording or streaming, but there are better options available.

Key features

  • System performance monitor

  • Can play music from Spotify

  • Works for games or any application

Pros

  • Works well when it works!

  • Already built into Windows 10

Cons

  • Inconsistent performance

  • Game Bar doesn’t always appear when you want it to

Summary

Setting up OBS to record for streaming, gaming, and video conferences is fairly straightforward. With the tips and tricks we’ve discussed here, you should be able to create quality videos by recording your screen and/or webcam activity. If you’re looking for a good alternative to OBS Studio that will help you make high-quality videos, we recommend trying out Movavi Screen Recorder or Gecata by Movavi.

Movavi Screen Recorder

The perfect way to record from your screen

Disclaimer: Please be aware that Movavi Screen Recorder does not allow capture of copy-protected video and audio streams.

Frequently asked questions

What are the best settings for OBS recording?

For many users, the best settings for OBS recording are:

  • Video file format: MP4

  • Audio track: 1

  • Encoder: x264

  • Bitrate: 40,000 (or 15,000-25,000 if you’re working with a lower-end computer)

How do I set up OBS for recording?

When you first open OBS Studio, you should be prompted to go through the auto-configuration process. If the Auto-Configuration Wizard tool doesn’t automatically pop up, you can find it in the Tools menu at the top of your screen. Run this tool to let OBS automatically check your system’s requirements and attempt to find the settings appropriate for your computer. This should include the settings for your recording, resolution, encoder, bitrate, and other settings.

Once you’ve run the auto-config tool, check that OBS is set up for your preferred audio device. You can do this by clicking Settings > Audio. Then verify that it has the right audio device selected or change it if you’re using another device.

Next, you’ll need to add your video source(s). Find the Sources box at the bottom of the screen and click +. This will give you several options, including Game Capture, Window, or Video Capture Device (for capturing webcam video). Select the appropriate video source(s), and you’ll be set to start recording.

How do I set up OBS for recording games?

To record gameplay with OBS, go to Settings > Audio to ensure that your audio output is set correctly to your internal computer audio or to an external microphone if you’re using one. Next, go to the Sources box at the bottom of the screen. Click + and select Game Capture. This will ensure that you record the window for your game and no other video sources.

Why is my OBS recording laggy?

If the video you’re capturing isn’t lagging, but your OBS recording is, you likely need to reduce your bitrate and/or turn down your resolution settings for your game. If the problem persists, and you know that your computer is not lagging, you might want to try an alternative video capture application, like Movavi Screen Recorder.

Check out this overview of no-lag screen recorders:

What's the best recording format in OBS?

We recommend setting FLV as the recording format in OBS. Picking FLV has a great advantage – if OBS crashes during recording for whatever reason, everything you’ve captured before that will be saved. In terms of format support, your best choice is MP4 since this format is most commonly used.

Have questions?

If you can’t find the answer to your question, please feel free to contact our Support Team.

Sign up for news and special offers