NTSC 和 PAL 是什麼?該怎麼選擇呢?

Edited by Alex Weng
15 099

在本文中,我們將詳細討論 PAL 與 NTSC 標準。您還將學會如何使用我們的影片轉換工具來轉換檔案。

參數

NTSC

PAL

縮寫

National Television Standard Committee

Phase Alternating Line

每秒格數

29.97

25

視訊頻寬

4.2 MHz

5 MHz

為了向您提供經過驗證的資訊,Movavi 的團隊做了這些事:

  • 在選擇產品並列入評論時,我們會就著需求和產品的受歡迎程度進行研究。

  • 本文提及的所有產品,都經過了我們團隊的測試。

  • 測試時,我們會比較關鍵的特性,包括產品所支援的輸入和輸出格式、轉換時的品質損失,以及其他重要特性。

  • 我們會研究熱門平台的使用者評論,並在撰寫產品評論時加以引用。

  • 我們會收集使用者回饋的意見,並分析他們對 Movavi 軟體以及其他公司產品的意見。

Movavi Video Converter 是視訊及音訊轉換的絕佳選擇。能將檔案轉換並壓縮成 180 種格式,還具有內建的編輯器,可在轉換前進行基本的影片編輯,例如品質調整和修剪。這是個易於使用的選擇,最適合初學者使用,還有中文版哦。

NTSC 或 PAL:這些標準是什麼?

NTSC 和 PAL 是什麼?我們先來弄清楚這些標準的意義。

NTSC 是「(美國) 國家電視標準委員會」的縮寫,也是一種用於 DVD 播放器的類比色碼影片系統,一直到最近,北美的電視廣播領域都還有使用。在 1950 年代,黑白電視開始讓位給彩色電視,原先的技術標準已經過時。當時,美國廣播公司正試著用多種方法來為顏色編碼,但每種方法都相互衝突。直到 1953 年,國家電視標準委員會才推出了一項新的電視標準,並命名為「NTSC」。之所以開發這種格式,是為了與該國的大多數電視機相容,且無論彩色還是黑白電視都要能適用。即使現代電視廣播公司已數位化,但他們所使用的解析度行數和影格速率仍與 NTSC 格式所建立的相同。

PAL (即「逐行倒相 (Phase Alternating Line)」) 是另一種用於模擬彩色電視的影片模式系統,同樣適用於 DVD 和藍光播放器。PAL 格式於 1950 年代後期誕生於在德國,目的是為了解決 NTSC 的某些弱點,包括惡劣天氣所造成的訊號不穩。這一點對歐洲的廣播公司而言特別重要。新的標準透過隔行反轉電視訊號從而消除錯誤,進一步解決了上述的問題。PAL 還提供了當地所需的畫面頻率,也就是 50 Hz。這種格式與 NTSC 不同,還有許多國家/地區使用著這種格式來進行廣播。

還有第三個系統稱為 SECAM (法語:Séquentiel couleur à mémoire),又稱賽康制,意思是「循序色彩記憶」。該標準是在法國開發的,是 NTSC 的另一種替代方案,並在法國和東歐使用。

NTSC 和 PAL 之間有什麼區別?

那麼,NTSC 和 PAL 之間有什麼區別呢?以下是 NTSC 和 PAL 之間的主要區別:

顏色編碼

NTSC 接收器具有手動色調校正功能。在 NTSC 標準中,飽和度越高色偏就越明顯。因此必須做些調整。PAL 能自動管理色彩,藉由改變顏色訊號的相位來消除色調誤差。事實上,在 PAL 中,色度相位的誤差確實不見了。

圖像品質

NTSC 的解析度為 525 行。行數越多,圖像品質就越好。因此,與 PAL 一比,圖像品質便相形見拙。

PAL 的行數可達每秒 50 行。因此能提供 25 條交替線。PAL 每秒還能產生 25 個影格,使圖像的顯示速度更快。PAL 的總解析度為 625 行,比 NTSC 更高。所以我們能說 PAL 的畫質要比 NTSC 的好。

FPS (每秒格數)

兩種標準之間的另一個區別則是 FPS (每秒影格) 速率。NTSC 是每秒 29.97 格,而 PAL 則是 25 格。如果是 NTSC 標準,過去曾是 30 FPS,或者說 60Hz 的家用插座的每次的完整交替都有一格。然而,當彩色廣播出現時,黑白電視無法正確轉譯顏色和亮度的訊號,結果在螢幕上顯示出無意義的圖像。為了處理這個問題,就必須在亮度訊號的震盪之間再增加一個色度訊號,可由黑白電視安全地忽略,並透過特殊的適配器的幫助顯示出正確的色彩。這個額外的訊號拖慢了傳輸每一個影格所需的時間,因此 NTSC 的 FPS 才從原本的 30 降至 29.97。採用 PAL 標準的地區,使用的則是電流頻率與類型都不同的 50 Hz 插座,這也解釋了 PAL 標準每秒鐘的影格速率為何不同。

解析度行數

另一個關鍵區別,則在於各標準所使用的解析度行數不同。NTSC 具備 525 行,且有 480 行可見 (即廣為人知的 480i)。至於 PAL,此參數則為 625 行,具 576 行可見 (576i)。如果使用 PAL 視訊,各行的色彩資訊相位是相反的,這正好反映這個標準的名稱,即「逐行倒相 (Phase Alternating Line)」。這種反轉使得訊號傳輸中的相位誤差得到自動修正,並最終帶來了失真更少的圖像。儘管如此,還是有這個過程還是會損失一些垂直顏色的解析度,且儘管人類難以用肉眼察覺,鄰行上的色彩也常常會糊在一起。

在 DVD 上,由於沒有以載波為基礎的訊號編碼,因此頻率和行數的差異不會發生作用,只有影格速率和解析度會造成差異而已。儲存在 DVD 上的影片,通常各有不同的影格速路。從 24、25 到 30 FPS 都有。解析度也是,NTSC 的 DVD 提供了 720 x 480 像素,而 PAL 則提供了 720 x 576。DVD 上的資料由 DVD 播放機讀取,且經過格式化,可用特定的電視機來顯示,無論是 NTSC 或 PAL 的電視都可以。事實上,PAL 標準的數位影片光碟,似乎比 NTSC 標準的光碟更具優勢。因為 PAL 的光碟具有更高解析度像素。相同的情況也發生在 VHS 播放器、GoPro 攝影機和其他 PAL/NTSC 裝置上。

現在您知道 PAL 和 NTSC 之間的區別了。

那麼,為什麼這些標準仍然存在?

自 1950 年代以來,世界發生了很大的變化。這些電視標準的問世,原先都是為了克服某些挑戰,但那些挑戰都已不復存在。但是藍光、DVD 和其他許多的媒體仍會標出 PAL 或 NTSC,而這兩種影片標準中的解析度、時序和其他參數,仍在現代的電視機和顯示器中廣受使用。

這主要是因為國家版權法的實施。各類的影片格式可當作額外的保護措施來使用,以免電影、電視節目和電子遊戲在不適合的國家/地區非法傳播。儘管軟體本身在任何類型的顯示器上都可以完美執行,但這種區域限制格式的使用機制已經非常成熟,以至於電子產品的分發區域,通常還是以 NTSC 和 PAL 區域來作為稱呼。

NTSC 和 PAL 各在哪些地方使用呢?

各種標準都有特定的使用地區。NTSC 常見於北美、南美某些國家、菲律賓、緬甸、台灣、韓國和日本。PAL 更為常見,覆蓋了西歐的大部分地區、中國、印度、澳大利亞、非洲大部分地區和其他地方。第三個系統 SECAM 則用於非洲、俄羅斯和法國等地的一些地區。

請參閱下方的地圖,瞭解 NTSC 與 PAL 和 SECAM 影片格式的分佈。

NTSC 與 PAL – 選擇哪個呢?

那麼,PAL 與 NTSC 哪個比較好呢?這個問題的答案主要取決於您的位置和觀眾的位置。如果您正在為全球觀眾製作影片,那麼使用 NTSC 比較保險,因為大多數的 PAL DVD 播放器和 VCR,無論如何都能播放 NTSC 影片,但 NTSC 平台則通常不適用於 PAL 的內容。

電玩中的 NTSC 和 PAL

懷舊電子遊戲是至今仍在使用 NTSC 和 PAL 的領域之一。由於較舊的遊戲主機常使用類比影片輸出,您需要將其與電視正確配對,顯示的方向才會正確。例如,如果使用專為澳大利亞而設計的超級任天堂 (使用的是 PAL 標準),則無法在使用著 NTSC 的美國規格的電視上運行。這是因為編碼不同所致。此外,過去曾有些遊戲,在 NTSC 地區和 PAL 地區所使用的遊戲主機根本就不同 。

如何在 NTSC 和 PAL 之間轉換檔案

那麼,當您發現自己的影片使用了不正確的標準時,該怎麼辦呢?您會想到的第一件事,就是使用影片轉換程式來變更標準。當然,並不是每個影片轉換器都有這個選項。但是,Movavi Video Converter 可以做到這一點。您只需安裝程式,新增影片,然後選擇正確的預設值 (NTSC 或 PAL) 即可。

Movavi Video Converter

理想的辦法是讓你的媒體成為你需要的格式!

Movavi Video Converter

常見問題集

如何將 PAL 轉換為 NTSC?

哪些國家/地區使用 PAL 影片格式?

NTSC 和 PAL ,哪個品質比較好?

NTSC 在哪裡使用呢?

加入我們就能取得操作指南,也不會錯過特別優惠和應用程式小技巧!

NTSC vs. PAL: Which Is Better?

Ben Jacklin Edited by Ben Jacklin

If you want to change the format of your video, use Movavi Video Converter!

  • Lightning-fast conversion
  • Batch processing of files – any number, any size

  • No quality loss, even with 4K videos
  • Easy editing and compression

In this article we’ll talk about PAL vs. NTSC standards in detail. You’ll also learn to convert files with our video converter.

Parameter

NTSC

PAL

Abbreviation

National Television Standard Committee

Phase Alternating Line

Frames per second

29.97

25

Video bandwidth

4.2 MHz

5 MHz

Show more

Movavi Video Converter is a superb option for video and audio conversion. It can convert and compress files into 180 formats. It also comes with an in-built editor that helps make basic video edits before converting, like quality adjustments and trimming. It is an easy-to-use option and is an excellent choice for beginners.

NTSC or PAL: what are these standards?

What is NTSC and PAL? First, let’s figure out what these standards are.

NTSC (stands for “National Television Standard Committee”) is an analog color-encoding video system used in DVD players and, until recently, television broadcasting in North America. In the 1950s, black-and-white television started to yield ground to color, and the previous technical standard became obsolete. At the time, U. S. broadcasting companies were using a wide range of methods to encode color, each of which conflicted with the others. It was not until 1953 that a new TV standard was introduced by the National Television System Committee and named “NTSC.” This format was developed with the intention to be compatible with most TV sets in the country, whether color or black-and-white. Even though modern television broadcasters switched to digital, the number of resolution lines and the frame rate they use are the same as established by the NTSC format.

PAL (or “Phase Alternating Line”) is another video mode system for analog color television, also used in DVD and Blu-ray players. Designed in the late 1950s in Germany, the PAL format was supposed to deal with certain weaknesses of NTSC, including signal instability under poor weather conditions, which was especially relevant for European broadcasters. The new standard was to solve the problem by reversing every other line in a TV signal and thus eliminating errors. PAL also provided the locally required picture frequency – 50 Hz. This format, unlike NTSC, is still employed for broadcasting in the countries where it was adopted.

There’s also a third system called SECAM (Séquentiel couleur à mémoire – “sequential color with memory” in French). It was developed in France as another alternative to NTSC and is used there and in Eastern Europe.

What is the difference between NTSC and PAL?

So, what is the difference between NTSC and PAL? Here are the key differences between NTSC and PAL:

Color encoding

NTSC receivers have manual tint color correction. Higher saturation of NTSC makes off-hue colors more noticeable. It is necessary to make some adjustments. PAL manages color automatically. It uses color signal phase alteration to remove hue errors. In fact, chrominance phase errors get eliminated in PAL.

Picture quality

NTSC has 525 lines of resolution. More lines are an indication of better picture quality. So, the picture quality is less in comparison to PAL.

PAL lines can go out at 50 every second. So, it provides 25 alternating lines. It also produces 25 frames per second, which results in a faster image display. The total lines of resolution in PAL are 625, which is higher than NTSC. So, you can say that the picture quality of PAL is better compared to NTSC.

FPS (frames-per-second)

Another difference between the two standards is the FPS (frames-per-second) rate – 29.97 for NTSC and 25 for PAL. In the case of NTSC, it used to be 30 FPS or a single frame for every complete alternation of a 60-Hz household outlet. However, when color broadcasting emerged, black-and-white TVs were unable to interpret color and brightness signals correctly, displaying nonsensical images on their screens. To deal with this problem, an additional chrominance signal had to be added between luminance signal oscillations, which could safely be ignored by black-and-white TVs and was properly displayed by color ones with the help of a special adapter. This extra signal led to lengthening of the time needed to transfer each frame and reduced the FPS from 30 to 29.97 for NTSC. The households in PAL regions use a different type of current outlets with a different frequency – 50 Hz, which also explains the different frame-per-second rate for PAL.

Number of resolution lines

Another key difference is the number of resolution lines used by each of the standards. NTSC delivers 525 lines, with 480 appearing visibly (which is known as 480i). For PAL, this parameter corresponds to 625 lines, with 576 being visible (576i). In a PAL video signal, the color information phase is reversed with each line, which is reflected in the very name of the standard (“Phase Alternating Line”). This reversal leads to automatic corrections of phase errors in the signal transmission and, ultimately, to a higher-fidelity image. Nevertheless, some vertical color resolution is lost in the process, and colors on adjacent lines tend to blur together, though imperceptibly to the human eye.

On DVDs, where there is no carrier wave-based signal encoding, the differences in frequency and lines don’t come into play. The only things that matter are the frame rate and the resolution. Videos and movies are stored on DVDs with different frame rates – 24, 25, or 30 FPS; as well as in different resolutions – 720 x 480 pixels for NTSC DVDs and 720 x 576 pixels for PAL ones. The data on a DVD are read by a DVD player and formatted for presentation on a particular TV set – either NTSC or PAL. As a matter of fact, PAL digital video discs seem to have an edge over NTSC discs since the PAL ones feature larger resolution pixels. The same goes for VHS players, GoPro cameras, and some other PAL/NTSC devices.

Now you know what the difference between PAL and NTSC is.

Why are these standards still around?

The world has changed quite a bit since the 1950s, and the former challenges that these TV standards were designed to solve simply do not apply anymore. However, Blu-rays, DVDs, and many other media are still labeled PAL or NTSC, and the resolutions, timings, and other parameters established in these video standards are still used in modern TV sets and displays.

The main reason for that is the enforcement of national copyright laws. Using a variety of video formats acts as an additional layer of protection, preventing illegal distribution of movies, television shows, and video games in the countries they were not intended for. This use of region-restricted formats is so well-established that the respective distribution areas for electronic products are often called NTSC and PAL regions, despite the software itself working perfectly fine on any type of monitor.

Where are NTSC and PAL used?

All the standards are limited to particular parts of the world. NTSC is mostly found in North America, certain countries in South America, the Philippines, Myanmar, Taiwan, South Korea, and Japan. PAL is much more common, covering most of Western Europe, China, India, Australia, most of Africa, and elsewhere. SECAM, the third system, is used in some other parts of Africa, Russia, and France.

See the distribution of the video formats NTSC vs. PAL and SECAM on the map below.

NTSC vs. PAL – which to choose?

So, PAL vs. NTSC – which is better? The answer to this question depends mostly on your location and that of your audience. If you’re creating videos for global viewership, it’s safer to go with NTSC – as most PAL DVD players and VCRs are able to play NTSC video anyway, while NTSC platforms generally don’t work with PAL content.

NTSC and PAL for gaming

One of the spheres in which NTSC and PAL are still in use today is retro video gaming. As older game consoles use analog video output, you will require to pair them with television for proper orientation. For instance, if you use a Super Nintendo for Australia, which will be in PAL, it won’t work on a TV from the U.S. where NTSC is in use. It is because of the difference in encoding. Also, back in the old days, certain games ran differently on game consoles in NTSC countries than those in PAL regions.

How to convert files between NTSC and PAL

So, you’ve found out that your video has the wrong standard. What do you do then? The first thing that comes to mind is to change the standard with a video conversion program. Of course, not every video converter has this option. However, Movavi Video Converter can do this. Just install the program, add your video, and choose the correct preset (NTSC or PAL).

Want to know more? Read the guide below to find out how exactly to convert NTSC to PAL and vice versa with Movavi Video Converter.

Movavi NTSC-to-PAL video conversion guide

Frequently asked questions

How do I convert PAL to NTSC?

To convert PAL to NSTC, try using Movavi Video Converter. Follow the step-by-step guide below to learn how to convert your PAL files.

Which countries use the PAL video format?

PAL is used mainly in Western Europe, as well as in China, India, Brazil, Argentina, Australia, New Zealand, and a number of African countries.

Is NTSC or PAL better quality?

If you want to create videos for worldwide viewership, it is a safe bet to opt for NTSC as PAL VCRs and DVD players can play NTSC videos. But PAL comes with 625 lines of resolution, whereas NTSC has 525 only. More lines can provide better quality, so PAL is of better quality.

Where is NTSC used?

NTSC is most common in the Philippines, South America, Taiwan, Myanmar, Japan, South Korea, and North America.

NTSC and PAL competition is never-ending. You will have to select your version carefully to get the most out of your videos.

Have questions?

If you can’t find the answer to your question, please feel free to contact our Support Team.

Sign up for news and special offers